LibGuides: Arts and Fine Arts : Articles

Find Journals

Use Journal Finder to find journals on your topic. For example to look for all available journals on Music, type the word music in the search box and search by "Title contains all words".

Open Access Journals

Find Articles

Use the Library databases to search for articles. Databases collect and index a big number of journals running through long time periods. They offer searching features that help you find what you need using and combining keywords, limiting your search by type of publication or date and other search techniques.

Find Databases in Fine Arts
Try also Multidisciplinary databases, to find journal articles not covered in subject specific databases
See Databases Search Techniques

In most cases you can access the articles in full text, or link to the full text from a different source.

Core Databases

Looking for articles on arts and fine arts? try the following databases:

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window A comprehensive resource for art information offering full-text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications including journals, dissertations and art reproductions. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1972 to present
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database indexing leading arts and humanities journals. This bibliographic database is accessed via Web of Science and allows cited reference searching, results analysis, and citation mapping. Subjects covered include archeology, architecture, dance, film and theater, history, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, and religion. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1975 to present
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window Published by the Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library at Columbia University, this database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. It also includes publications of professional associations, plus state and regional periodicals. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1800s to present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR, a digital library for scholars, researchers and students, provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines including business, economics, humanities, medicine, mathematics, science, and social sciences. Library's subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Global Plants and Life Sciences. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1665 to present
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window Bibliographic information for critical scholarly materials in literature, criticism, drama, language, linguistics, humanities, and folklore. Coverage is worldwide and includes articles chosen from over 3,500 journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials. Availability: Bibliographic citations and Full-text via Literature Resource Center Date Coverage: 1926 to present
Project Muse Journals This link opens in a new window An online collection of journals from scholarly and academic presses including John Hopkins University Press. The collection provides access to arts, humanities, and social sciences in scholarly journals that are peer-reviewed. Subject covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, economics, and many others. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: All from v.1

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database, covering a wide array of subject areas ranging from astronomy, biomedicine, engineering, health, and literacy to mathematics, women's studies, zoology and more. The database includes magazines, peer reviewed and scholarly journals, trade publications, newspapers, reports, books and videos. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1890 - present
Scopus This link opens in a new window Excellent for citation searching The largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources including conference proceedings and patent records. Covers 3,500 Arts and Humanities titles starting and including Project Muse titles starting 1990-present. Citation search starts 1996-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Excellent for citation searching A large multidisciplinary database. It provides access to bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references from scholarly journals including open access journals. It include Arts and Humanities Citation Index - 1100 journals from 1975- . ISI Web of Knowledge. 1898-

Scholarly Indexes

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new window Two bibliographic databases BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art) and RILA (Répertoire International de la Littérature de l'Art) published by Getty Research Institute. The database covers European and American visual arts material. Indexes books, conference papers, dissertations and journal articles. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1975-2007
International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). It indexes core journals, monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues. Part of the indexed content is in languages other than English (primarily German, French, Italian and Spanish).

Availability: Bibliographic citations
Date Coverage: ----

Academic University Oxford Press provide digital editions of many of our most acclaimed scholarly and reference works, as well as academic and research journals. Both the journals and online resources cover subject areas across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences, Medicine, and Law, and offer excellent functionality for teaching and research
JURN Search millions of free academic articles, chapters and theses in arts, humanities, business, law, nature, science, and medical.

Peer-Reviewed Articles

What Are Peer-Reviewed Articles?
As part of the publication process, articles in scholarly journals are reviewed by committees of other notable scholars. Such reviewers are considered to be the writer's peers.

Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles?
When searching for articles in a general database look for the "limit your search" options. Most databases provide "limit to peer-reviewd journals" option.

See Tutorial Peer Review in 5 minutes North Carolina State University Libraries. July 10, 2009 [5:11 minutes]

How to Know if a Journal is Peer-Reviewed?
Go to the University Libraries homepage, click on Databases and log-in to UlrichsWeb (Periodicals Directories)
Type the journal title in the Quick Search box. Look for the "peer-reviewed" symbol next to the journal title.

Arts and Fine Arts : Articles