This guide highlights core print and electronic Library resources in the area of American Studies and it links to relevant web resources. Use this guide as your starting point, come to the library or Ask a Librarian for more resources and further help.
America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922
New York Times with Index, The (1851-2020)This link opens in a new windowThe Historical New York Times (1851-2009) with Index (1851-1993) offers full-page-images and article images dating back to 1851.
The full page image allows users to view the information in context as originally published.
Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 1851-2020
Note: Use LexisNexis database for issues published after 2009
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
Washington Post, The (1877-2007)This link opens in a new windowProQuest Historical Newspapers. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
International Newspapers
Financial Times (first-time users should click on "more" to create an account)This link opens in a new windowFinancial Times provides essential business, finance, economic and political news, as well as comments, data and analysis from the Financial Times on FT.com.
Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 2005 to present
Please follow the below link to create an account using your AUB email:
https://www.ft.com/AUB
Nexis UniThis link opens in a new windowLexis-Nexis Academic provides full-text and citation access to information in news, business, medical, and legal disciplines. The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, and SEC filings such as 10-K's and 10-Q's. Research areas cover top news topics; foreign language news sources; company and industry news; medical and health topics; accounting, auditing, and tax information.
Availability: Full-text
Coverage: 1975 to present
The vast majority of the titles on LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (Lexis-Nexis) are available in full text, with a limited number available in abstract form.
Research areas in LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (Lexis-Nexis) cover top news, general news topics, and news transcripts; foreign language news sources; company, industry, and market news; legal news; company financial information; general medical and health topics and medical abstracts; accounting, auditing, and tax information.
Availability: Full-text
Coverage: 1975 to present
Wall Street Journal, The (first-time users must create an account using their AUB email while on-campus)This link opens in a new windowAvailability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 2010 to present
Note: Users of the American University of Beirut have a 90-day expiration cookie placed on their account. This means that if you do not click on the link located in the Libraries’ page within 90 days, you will lose access to the Wall Street Journal. This process was put into place, by WSJ, not only to ensure that legitimate and current students and professors are able to use the site license but also when students leave AUB, their access will automatically drop off as well.
For issues published before 2010, use the following databases:
- ProQuest Central (1998-2010)
- Wall Street Journal – Historical (1889-1998)
Access expires after 1 year, to regain access please renew your subscription on-campus via the below link:
https://ezproxy.aub.edu.lb/login?url=https://partner.wsj.com/enter-redemption-code/AUBDPCZF2DG
Washington Post, The (1877-2007)This link opens in a new windowDigital archive of the Washington Post newspaper providing access to full text from the first issue in 1889 through 1998. It includes editorials, analyses, controversial opinions, charts, stock tables, advertisement, graphics and illustrations.
Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 1877-2007
Note: For issues published after 2000, use LexisNexis or ProQuest Central databases.
