This guide highlights core print and electronic Library resources in the area of American Studies and it links to relevant web resources. Use this guide as your starting point, come to the library or Ask a Librarian for more resources and further help.
A companion biographical reference work to Who's who in America
Online Databases
Biography Index Retrospective: 1946-1983 (H.W. Wilson)This link opens in a new windowA biographical index listing over 627,000 articles, book citations, interviews, profiles of history makers, obituaries, letters, diaries, and memoirs. Includes notable information on artists, business people, politicians, scientists, writers and others. Topics covered range from art history, architecture, graphic arts, to industrial design, folk art, non-western art and much more.
Availability: Bibliographic citations
Date Coverage: 1946 - 1983
Encyclopedia of world biographyThis link opens in a new windowProvides biographical information on famous people who have made significant contributions to human culture and society.
It covers persons from every part of the world and from all time periods. It includes thousands of photos, a consolidated index, and more.
Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: Varies
World Biographical Information System Online (WBIS Online)This link opens in a new windowBiographical database, providing short biographical information on over 6 million people from the 8th century B.C. to present.
The database compiles biographical articles from printed reference works published from the 16th to the 21st century, and reproduces these original documents as facsimile images on the screen.
Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: Complete collection
American National Biography
Notable American Women: 1607-1950 - A biographical dictionary
Who was who in America
