It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide highlights core print and electronic Library resources in the area of American Studies and it links to relevant web resources. Use this guide as your starting point, come to the library or Ask a Librarian for more resources and further help.
A non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University. The Archive is a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States.
Congressional PublicationsThis link opens in a new windowCongressional Record is the official record of the proceedings, debates, and activity of the U.S. Congress.
In addition to debates, the Congressional Record contains extensive additional reprinting of inserted materials, communications from the President and the Executive Branch, memorials, petitions, and information on legislation. The Record presents minutes-style coverage. Coverage for each day includes the proceedings of the House and the Senate, an “Extension of Remarks” section and a “Daily Digest” summary.
Coverage: 1789 to present
How to use: Quick Start
U. S. Serial SetThis link opens in a new windowBibliographic citations of governmental publications of United States Congressional Serial Set and American State Papers. The database covers congressional and executive material from 1789 though 1901, and includes a series of publications such as congressional reports and documents, presidential communications, maps and treaty materials. Publications capture key aspects of American life.
Availability: Bibliographic citations
Date Coverage: 1789-1901
Congressional Hearings that have been digitized are available in full view
HathiTrust is a digital preservation repository that provides long-term preservation and access services to materials digitized by Google Books, the Internet Archives, Microsoft, and top-ranked university libraries. It includes reference works, books, government documents, maps, manuscripts, photos, journals, newspapers, and other published and unpublished materials.
Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations
Date Coverage: 1200 to present