LibGuides: Artificial Intelligence : Researching AI

Search the AUB Libraries discovery tool to find books, journal articles, multimedia, theses and dissertations and other resources, in both print or electronic format.

Encyclopedia of Artificial Intelligence by Juan Ramon Rabunal (Editor)
A comprehensive and in-depth reference to the most recent developments in the field covering theoretical developments, techniques, technologies, and applications of systems using intelligent characteristics for adaptability, automation learning, classification, prediction, and even artistic creation,among others.
International Dictionary of Artificial Intelligence by William Raynor
Call Number: J 006.3:R276i:c.1
Publication Date: 1998
This book is a must reference for all disciplines-business, science, education and engineering. This important work contains over 2,500 entries-defined, explained and illustrated-and detailed discussion of major concepts as well as topics in related disciplines.
Artificial intelligence
Ramos-Martín, J., & Barreneche, C. (2020). Artificial intelligence. In The SAGE International Encyclopedia of Mass Media and Society (Vol. 5, pp. 88-89). SAGE Publications, Inc., https://doi.org/10.4135/9781483375519

I. Search the Library Catalog to find books and e-books available at the University Libraries.

Start with a Keyword search e.g. Artificial Intelligence. Keyword search will find words in titles, authors, subject headings, notes and other fields.

Selected Titles

1. General

AI for Absolute Beginners: A Clear Guide to Tomorrow by Oliver Theobald
Embark on a journey through AI with a beginner-friendly course, empowering you to understand and ethically apply AI, shaping the future of technology and innovation. The course focuses on the core components of AI, including machine learning, deep learning, and natural language processing, before advancing to more specialized topics like generative AI and computer vision. Each module is designed to build a comprehensive understanding, emphasizing why these technologies are crucial for solving real-world problems and how they're transforming industries.
AI for Everyone: A Beginner's Handbook for Artificial Intelligence (AI) by Saptarsi Goswami, Amit Kumar Das, Amlan Chakrabarti
The book introduces the basic concepts of artificial intelligence or AI in a simple but comprehensive way. It covers the evolution of AI and its use across diverse domains. It also discusses the different technology areas under the gamut of AI, the ethical concerns related to AI and how they should be addressed.

2. Subject Specific

AI for Physics by Volker Knecht
This book provides an overview of the wide and varied applications of artificial intelligence (AI) across the spectrum of physical sciences. Focusing in particular on AI's ability to extract patterns from data, known as machine learning (ML), the book includes a chapter on important machine learning algorithms and their respective applications in physics.
AI for Arts by Niklas Hageback; Daniel Hedblom
AI for Arts is a book for anyone fascinated by the man-machine connection, an unstoppable evolution that is intertwining us with technology in an ever-greater degree, and where there is an increasing concern that it will be technology that comes out on top. The articulation of an artificial intelligence art manifesto is long overdue, so hopefully this book can fill a gap that will have repercussions not only for aesthetic and philosophical considerations but possibly more so for the development of artificial intelligence.
AI for Communication by David J. Gunkel
AI for Communication offers an engaging exploration into the diverse applications of AI within the realm of communication. Exploring key advancements such as machine translation, natural language processing, large language models, computational creativity, and social robotics, this book shows how these innovations not only disrupt, but also actively transform, human communication. The book is designed for students, teachers, and general readers who want to know how the field of communication impacts and influences the theory and practice of AI, and how recent developments in AI will affect all aspects of human social interaction.
AI for Finance
To finance students and practitioners, this book will explain the promise of AI, as well as its limitations. It will cover knowledge representation, modelling, simulation and machine learning, explaining the principles of how they work. To computing students and practitioners, this book will introduce the financial applications in which AI has made an impact. This includes algorithmic trading, forecasting, risk analysis portfolio optimization and other less well-known areas in finance.

II. EBook Collections

Access Engineering This link opens in a new window Full-text database providing access to engineering books and reference works. It covers various engineering topics (bio, chemical, civil, electrical, petroleum, mechanical...) and comprises interactive graphs and tables, instructional videos, maps, and global engineering news. Date Coverage: Current Note: Adobe's Free Flash player (version 8 or higher) plug-in is required to view all videos. Limitations: 45 users at a time
Elsevier eBooks This link opens in a new window A collection of electronic books published by Elsevier serving a wide range of research needs in the life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: Complete collection till 2019
Springer Books This link opens in a new window A digitized scientific, technical and medical (STM) book collection. It comprises professional books with in-depth knowledge, reference books, and textbooks. Subjects covered include Biomedical and Life Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Engineering, Mathematics, and Physics. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: Complete collection

III. Lecture Series

Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence
was established in 1988 as a topical subseries of Lecture Notes in Computer Science devoted to artificial intelligence.

The following are some of the library databases and scholarly journals that offer resources in AI and related fields:

I. Databases:

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window A collection of full-text articles and bibliographic records covering the field of computing and information technology. The database includes the complete collection of ACM's publications, including journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, and multimedia titles. All journals are accessible from volume one, issue one. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: All from v.1
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window Provides full text access to IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions, conference papers, and active standards. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1872 to present
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database that provides full-text access to hundreds of electronic journals, plus books and reference works, published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries. 754 of the journal titles are accessible from volume 1. Subjects covered include physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1923 to present
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window An integrated platform for books, journals, and other materials published by Springer. Includes more than 173,000 titles from every scientific discipline (computer science, medicine, public health, engineering, mathematics, life sciences, etc.) and many social sciences discipline (education, history, political sciences, psychology, etc.) 481 of the journal titles are accessible from volume one. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1832 to present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR, a digital library for scholars, researchers and students, provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines including business, economics, humanities, medicine, mathematics, science, and social sciences. Library's subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Global Plants and Life Sciences. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1665 to present

II. Academic and Scholarly Journals

Latest News on AI can be found in the following news sources and databases

Library Databases

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Lexis-Nexis Academic provides full-text and citation access to information in news, business, medical, and legal disciplines. The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, and SEC filings such as 10-K's and 10-Q's. Research areas cover top news topics; foreign language news sources; company and industry news; medical and health topics; accounting, auditing, and tax information. Availability: Full-text Coverage: 1975 to present The vast majority of the titles on LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (Lexis-Nexis) are available in full text, with a limited number available in abstract form. Research areas in LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (Lexis-Nexis) cover top news, general news topics, and news transcripts; foreign language news sources; company, industry, and market news; legal news; company financial information; general medical and health topics and medical abstracts; accounting, auditing, and tax information. Availability: Full-text Coverage: 1975 to present
Newswires This link opens in a new window Near real-time access to news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire. Users can immediately access the full text of the web content. The index to the full text content in EBSCO Newswires is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO, so users can enjoy the previous 30 days of news relating to their search interests. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 2013 to present
Chronicle of Higher Education, The This link opens in a new window Provides daily reports on developments in higher education, information technology, distance education. In addition to weekly issues and job listings, it contains daily updates on a variety of topics of interest in higher education, and updated databases of grant opportunities. Availability: Selected full-text Date Coverage: 1989 to present Print Equivalent: Chronicle of Higher Education

Individual Newspapers

The following are some of the AUB libraries' theses on artificial intelligence and related fields. To find more theses, visit our repository AUB ScholarWorks, navigate to Student Publications, and select AUB Students' Theses, Dissertations, and Projects.

Personhood and Artificial Intelligence: A Non-Binary Approach. By El Masri, Rayane
This thesis explores how the notion of degrees of personhood can help us rethink our relations with artificial intelligence, mainly social robots and personal assistants, and consider them as persons.
Multi-Model Arabic Negotiating Bot. By Albast, Samah
This thesis presents the first Arabic negotiation model, distinguished by incorporating multimodality into negotiation models. The integration of multimodality, particularly through image analysis, provides a more comprehensive and user-centric approach to negotiation. Our primary objective is to develop an Arabic multimodal negotiating bot, a seller agent capable of engaging in negotiations with buyers in the context of item sales.
The role of artificial intelligence in the recruitment and selection processes : a systematic review.. By Abou Hamdan, Lilian Fadi
The aim of this theses is to scope out the existing literature around the topic while specifically examining the role of AI technological software in the recruitment and selection processes, hence providing the reader with a practical understanding of the future of human factor in the recruitment and selections processes.

Looking for non-AUB theses & dissertations?

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global database is a good place to start. For Arabic language dissertations, please use Al Mandumah Dissertations.

Journal of Writing with and about AI
First issue published by Colby College Davis AI Institute
Publication date: May 2024.

Explore this collection on ArtStor database
Generative AI Art by Oliver Theobald
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2024
The course introduces the basic concepts of artificial intelligence and its application in art, making it accessible even to those without a technical background.
Artificial Intelligence and the Arts by Penousal Machado, Juan Romero, Gary Greenfield
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2021
The book covers two core propositions: creative artistic behavior is one of the key challenges of artificial intelligence research, and computer-assisted creativity and human-centered artificial intelligence systems are the driving forces for research in this area.