LibGuides: Media and Communications : Reference

Start Here

The International Encyclopedia of Media Studies
Includes more than 175 essays, arranged across 6 thematic volumes edited by an international team of expert scholars.

Search Encyclopedia Packages

Search an online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference books.

Sage Knowledge

Related Encyclopedias

International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Describe the state of the art in all the fields within the social and behavioral sciences. It comprises 4,000 articles.

Selected Dictioneries/Encyclopedias...

WHAT IS REFERENCE?

Reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and biographies help you find factual and background information about your topic.

It is advisable to look at more than one source of information to get the most information and to have a more balanced view of the topic.

Google and Wikipedia could be good places to start your search for general and initial ideas about your topic. But you will always have to use Library resources to get more credible information.

Selected Dictionaries/Encyclopedias...

Dictionary of Media and Communications by Marcel Danesi
Publication Date: 2015
This reference provides a complete listing of media concepts, figures, and techniques with illustrations and historical commentaries. The dictionary also includes terms related to psychology, linguistics, aesthetics, computer science, semiotics, culture theory, anthropology, and more that have relevance in media studies.
Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century Journalism
Provide a snapshot of British and Irish journalism in the nineteenth century.
Online Book from the Nineteenth Century Index
Encyclopedia of communication and information
Publication Date: 2002
Explores the full spectrum of communication, from careers to information technologies, in an interdisciplinary fashion. Emphasis is on both historical and current issues, topics, and people.
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory
Call Number: 302.203:E563L
Publication Date: 2009
One-stop source for a comprehensive overview of communication theory, offering descriptions of theories as well as the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories.
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
Call Number: J 302.2303:E563j
Publication Date: 2003
Explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials--is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. Click for more info.
Encyclopedia of New Media: An Essential Reference to Communication and Technology
Call Number: J 302.234:E563j
Publication Date: 2002
Presents more than 250 entries that place new communication technology, multimedia, entertainment and e-commerce within their social context. Click for more info.
Encyclopedia of Television
Call Number: J 384.55:E563n2
Publication Date: 2004
Provide description, history, analysis, and information on more than 1100 subjects related to television in its international context. Click for more info.
The International Encyclopedia of Communication
Call Number: J 302.203:I615d
Publication Date: 2008
Collection of 1,339 original entries within a 12 volume set, spanning the scholarship, evidence, and methodology of communication research. Click for more info.
The SAGE Handbook of Media Studies
Call Number: J 302.23:S129d
Publication Date: 2004
Provides an overview of media research and examines the theories, practices, and future of media studies. Click for more info.
World Press Encyclopedia
Publication Date: 2003
A comprehensive survey of press and electronic media covers over 200 countries and their systems.