LibGuides: Media and Communications : Articles

Find Articles

Use the Library databases to search for articles. Databases collect and index a big number of journals running through long time periods. They offer searching features that help you find what you need using and combining keywords, limiting your search by type of publication or date and other search techniques.

Find Databases in Media Studies
Try also Multidisciplinary databases, to find journal articles not covered in subject specific databases
Use News and Magazine databases to find news and magazine articles
Use Journal Finder to find specific journals

See Database Search Techniques

Databases

..., go to Databases and select Economics, Multidisciplinary or Political Science from the drop down menu under 'Find Resources by Subject'.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database, covering a wide array of subject areas ranging from astronomy, biomedicine, engineering, health, and literacy to mathematics, women's studies, zoology and more. The database includes magazines, peer reviewed and scholarly journals, trade publications, newspapers, reports, books and videos. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1890 - present
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database that provides full-text access to hundreds of electronic journals, plus books and reference works, published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries. 754 of the journal titles are accessible from volume 1. Subjects covered include physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1923 to present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR, a digital library for scholars, researchers and students, provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines including business, economics, humanities, medicine, mathematics, science, and social sciences. Library's subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Global Plants and Life Sciences. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1665 to present
Project Muse Journals This link opens in a new window An online collection of journals from scholarly and academic presses including John Hopkins University Press. The collection provides access to arts, humanities, and social sciences in scholarly journals that are peer-reviewed. Subject covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, economics, and many others. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: All from v.1
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database that supports research in more than 160 subject areas covering arts and humanities, business and management, health and medicine, science and technology, and social sciences. It includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, market reports and videos. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1905 to present

Business, Economics, Social and Political Science Databases

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window Offers access to peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in the business world. Features reports, company information and company profiles. Bloomberg.com is also searchable through Business Source Ultimate. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: - - - -
EconLit With Full Text This link opens in a new window EconLit, the American Economic Association database, is the primary source to economic literature. Contains nearly 600 English journals and many non-English journals in economics & finance. Includes journal articles, books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers. It covers all fields of economics including economic theory, econometrics, economic forecasting and much more. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1969 to present

"Full Text Options" red icon provides links from an article citation in a database to the full text wherever available in the library's collections.

Peer-Reviewed Articles

What Are Peer-Reviewed Articles?
As part of the publication process, articles in scholarly journals are reviewed by committees of other notable scholars. Such reviewers are considered to be the writer's peers.

Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles?
When searching for articles in a general database look for the "limit your search" options. Most databases provide "limit to peer-reviewed journals" option.
See Tutorial Peer Review in 5 minutes North Carolina State University Libraries. July 10, 2009 [5:11 minutes]

Find Journals

Use Journal Finder to find journals on your topic.

Find Full-text for Citation

If you have the citation of an article, use Citation Linker
OR
go to Journal Finder and type the journal name to see if the library has the full-text of the article.