Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fine Arts in the Middle East: Library Resources

This guide is intended to help you know more about Library and Internet resources in the area of Fine Arts in the Middle East. Use this guide as your starting point, come to the Library or Ask a Librarian for more resources and help.

Online Magazines

Library Resources

This is just a selected list of library resources. 
To find more articles, books, book chapters, images, and other materials.

Search the Library Catalog, Databases, Individual Journals, etc. or Ask a Librarian

 

I. Definitions

معجم مصطلحات الفنون ثلاثي اللغات: عربي - انكليزي - فرنسي

II. Essays and Overviews

  Contemporary art in the Middle East  
© 2009

Location: Jafet Stacks
Call Number: J 709.56:C761s
Additional Information
       Contemporary Art in the Middle East (Artworld): Paul Sloman, Paul ...
         
    Art of the Middle East: Modern and contemporary art of the Arab world & Iran.
© 2011
Location: Jafet Reference Department
Call Number: R 709. 56: E 348a
Additional Information
  Art of the Middle East: Modern and Contemporary Art of the Arab ...


Oxford Art Online Online encyclopedia with full-text essays on most aspects of the art world. Covers all geographical areas and all periods.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars. Browse subject entries and refine results by topic and/or by region.

موسوعة أعلام الرسم: العرب و الاجانب

Insert content for first tab here.

Why Use Article?

Articles are Best Resources for Research because: they are current, written by experts in your field, peer reviewed, and cover very specific subjects.


 

FIND ARTICLES USING DATABASES

Go to Databases, select Fine ArtsArab and Middle Eastern Studies, or Multidisciplinary from the drop down menu Find Resources by Subject

    I.
Core databases

 

     II. Other databases

 

                             

 


 

 

FIND ARTICLES USING INDIVIDUAL JOURNALS


Use Journal Finder to find journals on your topic. For example to look for available journals on Arts, type the word arts in the search box and search by "Title contains all words".


Locate individual journals

 

Browse Art E-Journals by subjects such as: Fine Arts, Decorative Arts , Drawing & Illustration and Painting

Insert content for second tab here.

Search the Catalog to find books and other materials available at the University Libraries.  

 

 
Insert content for third tab here.

Go to Databases, select Images from the drop down menu Find Resources by Type

ARTstor  A digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Go to Browse by Geography to view images by regions or countries.

Oxford Art Online provides access to more than 13,000 art images with links to international museums and galleries.


Books are great sources for finding good quality images. Go to the Catalog and perform a keyword search to find books about a particular artist, an exhibit, museum collections, etc.  

Convergence: new art from Lebanon   

Forces of change: Artists of the Arab world 

New Vision Arab contemporary art in the 21st century Five essays explore in depth contemporary Arab production, followed by 90 superbly illustrated profiles of key artists, organizations and galleries.

Interventions: A dialogue between the Modern and the Contemporary

Sajjil: a century of modern art (Examples of works)

Tamass: Contemporary Arab representations

Told, untold, retold: 23 stories of journeys through time and space 





Ayaman Baalbaki


 


Georges Sabbagh

Insert content for fourth tab here.

Select Bibliography on Fine Arts in the Middle East


Abaza, M. (2011). Twentieth-century Egyptian art: the private collection of Sherwet Shafei. Cairo, Egypt: American University in Cairo Press.

Abillama, N. S. (2012). Art from Lebanon modern and contemporary artists volume 1: 1880-1975. Lebanon: LebanonPostcard.

Ankori, G. (2006). Palestinian art. London: Reaktion Books.

Art Palestine: Nabil Anani, Tayseer Barakat, Sliman Mansour. (2011). Dubai: Meem Galllery,

Boullata, K. (2009). Palestinian art 1850-2005. London: Saqi.

Daher, N. (1995). L'identite nationale a travers le paysage realiste dans la peinture contemporaine de l'Orient Arabe. Beirut: Universite libanaise.

Halaby, S. (2001). Liberation art of Palestine: Palestinian painting and sculpture in the second half of the 20th century. New York: H.T.T.B Publications.

Keiso, F. (2008). The body in twilight: representation of the human body, sexuality and struggle in contemporary Arab art. Saarbrucken: VDM Verlag,

Khal, H. (1987). The woman artist in Lebanon. Beirut: Institute for Women Studies in the Arab World

Lahoud, E. (1974). Contemporary art in Lebanon. New York: Near East Books Co.

Naef, S. (1996). A la recherche d'une modernite arabe: l'evolution des arts plastiques en Egypte, au Liban et en Irak. Geneve: Slatkine,

Saeb. E. (2010). Art of the Middle East: modern and contemporary art of the Arab world and Iran. London: Merrell Publishers.

Said, H. (1964). Contemporary art in Egypt. Cairo, Egypt: Ministry of Culture and National Guidance.

Shabout, N.. (2007). Modern Arab art: formation of Arab aesthetics. Gainesville FL: University Press of Florida.

 

  ابو اليزيد، ا. ( 2002). سيرة اللون: تجارب تشكيلية معاصرة. القاهرة: الهيئة المصرية العامة للكتاب.

   أتاسي، م. ,الصايغ، س., و الزيات، ا. (1988). الفن التشكيلي المعاصر في سورية،1898-1998. دمشق: غاليري اتاسي.

  البهنسي, ع. (1985). الفن العربي الحديث بين الهوية و التبعية . بيروت: دار الرائد العربي.

  الراوي، ن. (1962). تأملات في الفن العراقي الحديث. بغداد: مديرية الفنون والثقافة الشعبية بوزارة الارشاد.

  الربيعي، ش. (1972). الفن التشكيلي المعاصر في العراق. بغداد: وزارة الاعلام، مديرية الثقافة العامة.

  القيسي, ع. (2011). الفن التشكيلي العربي المعاصر: الميراث و الحداثة. بيروت: اللجنة الوطنية اللبنانية للتربية والعلم والثقافة.

  العطار، م. (1996- 1998). رواد الفن وطليعة التنوير في مصر. القاهرة: الهيئة المصرية العامة للكتاب.

   سعيد، ح. (1964). الفن المعاصر في مصر. القاهرة: وزارة الثقافة والارشاد القومي.

  فروخ, م. (1967). الفن و الحياة : مقالات تبحث في الفن وارتباطه بالحياة. بيروت: دار العلم للملايين.

 

Insert content for sixth tab here.