Skip to main content

Access to e-Books: Find e-Books

This guide provides information on how to find and download e-Books from the library's collection

How to search for e-books at AUB Libraries?

  1. On the AUB Libraries homepage, under Resources, click on e-Books. You can search by Title, ISBN or browse by Subject.
     
  2. You may also search using the main search bar "SearchALL", and on the results' page limit to Books/ebooks on the left.
     
  3. Additional and more specific subjects can be accessed following the steps below:
  • On the homepage, under the main search bar, click on Databases.
  • From the drop down menu of All Subjects, select a subject of interest (for example Arab, Islamic & Middle Eastern Studies).
  • Select Books from All Databases Types.

 

When Trying to access subscription-based e-books from off-campus, you will be redirected to the EZproxy authentication page to enter your active AUB username and password. Once the credentials are entered, the books/databases would become accessible.

Below is a list of some multidisciplinary e-books accessible via AUB Libraries, For more, check this page.

 

Brill E-Books
Focusing on Middle Eastern art, history, culture, language, Islamic studies, philosophy, theology, mysticism, sociology and political studies.

CAB eBooks
Divided into 6 core subject collections: Agriculture; Animal & veterinary sciences; Environmental sciences; Human health, food & nutrition; Leisure & tourism; Plant sciences.

De Gruyter eBooks
A multidisciplinary and multilingual collection of 28 subject areas.

EBSCO eBook Collection
The collection covers a wide range of subjects and classic works in literature and history from the public domain.

Oxford Scholarship Online
Full-text of classic and newly published books from leading university presses in the areas of humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.

ProQuest Ebook Central
A multidisciplinary collection of reference and scholarly e-books covering 16 key subject areas including: business and economics, computers and IT, education, fine arts, history, literature and linguistics, life science, medicine, political science etc...

Sage Knowledge
A collection of encyclopedias, books and videos from Sage publication. The database allows users to search and browse titles by subject covering areas such as business, counseling, crime, education, health and social care, family studies, media, psychology, social issues and sociology.

ScienceDirect
Agriculture, astronomy, biochemistry, genetics and molecular biology, business, management, accounting, chemistry, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, etc...

Springer Books
A digitized scientific, technical and medical (STM) and other subjects book collection. It comprises professional books with in-depth knowledge, reference books, and textbooks.

Taylor & Francis eBooks
Over 10,000 selected academic books published by Taylor & Francis, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, and approximately 15,000 titles published by CRC Press in science, technology, engineering, and medicine.

University Press Scholarship Online
Academic books published by leading US and international university presses such as American University in Cairo Press and Oxford University Press. Subject areas covered include humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.

Below is a list of some Open Access databases for e-books. For a full list of OA e-books, Audiobooks and e-Textbooks, visit Open Access Databases.

 

Directory of Open Access Books
The directory will be open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.

epubBooks.com
A hand picked collection of the best public domain books to be found in the English language from the last five hundred years.

Google Books
Search and preview millions of books and journals digitized from library collections. Titles out of copyright are available in full.

Government eBooks
GPO archives free eBook files found on public Federal Government websites and provides permanent public access to the content.

Hathi Trust Digital Library
HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.

Intech Open
Provides freely available, accessible dynamic academic content in physical sciences, engineering and technology; life sciences; health sciences; and social sciences and humanities.