Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Download eBooks: Find e-Books

This guide provides information on how to find and download e-Books from the library's collection

Research & Instruction Services Librarian

Joyce Aways's picture
Joyce Aways
Contact:
Reference Desk
Jafet Library
American University of Beirut
+961-1-35000 ext. 2164
Website

A. How to search for e-books at AUB Libraries?

On the AUB Libraries homepage, under Resources, click on e-Books.

You can search by Title, ISBN or browse by Subject. You may also search using the main search bar "SearchALL", and on the results' page limit to Books/ebooks on the left.

 

Additional and more specific subjects can be accessed following the steps below:

  1. On the homepage, under the main search bar, click on Databases.

  2. From the drop down menu of All Subjects, select a subject of interest (for example Arab, Islamic & Middle Eastern Studies).

  3. Within the list, Select Books from All Databases Types.

 

Trying to access the library's e-books from off-campus?

When you select one of the books/databases, you will be redirected to the EZproxy page to enter your active AUB username and password. Once the credentials are entered, the books/databases would become accessible.


 

B. Some multidisciplinary e-book databases:

Brill E-Books

Focusing on Middle Eastern art, history, culture, language, Islamic studies, philosophy, theology, mysticism, sociology and political studies.

 

De Gruyter eBooks

A multidisciplinary and multilingual collection of electronic books and textbooks from many reputable publishers. The collection covers 28 subject areas.

 

EBSCO eBook Collection

Extensive collection of academic, professional, fiction and nonfiction electronic books from leading publishers. The collection covers a wide range of subjects including business, computer science, education, engineering, health & medicine, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, sciences, and social sciences. It includes classic works in literature and history from the public domain.

 

Oxford Scholarship Online

Multidisciplinary and cross-searchable library containing the full-text of classic and newly published books from leading university presses in the areas of humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.

 

ProQuest Ebook Central

A multidisciplinary collection of reference and scholarly e-books from hundreds of university presses, trade publishers, and popular presses. The content covers 16 key subject areas including: business and economics, computers and IT, education, fine arts, history, literature and linguistics, life science, medicine, political science etc...

 

Sage Knowledge

A collection of encyclopedias, books and videos from Sage publication. The database allows users to search and browse titles by subject covering areas such as business, counseling, crime, education, health and social care, family studies, media, psychology, social issues and sociology.

 

ScienceDirect

Agriculture, astronomy, biochemistry, genetics and molecular biology, business, management, accounting, chemistry, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, finance, energy and power, engineering, environmental science, mathematics, medicine, pharmacology, toxicology, physics, psychology.

 

Springer Books

A digitized scientific, technical and medical (STM) book collection. It comprises professional books with in-depth knowledge, reference books, and textbooks. Subjects covered include Biomedical and Life Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Engineering, Mathematics, and Physics.

 

Taylor & Francis eBooks

This e-book collection provides online access to over 10,000 selected academic books published by Taylor & Francis, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, and approximately 15,000 titles published by CRC Press in science, technology, engineering, and medicine.

 

University Press Scholarship Online
A multidisciplinary online library containing academic books published by leading US and international university presses such as American University in Cairo Press and Oxford University Press. Subject areas covered include humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.