This guide highlights core print and electronic Library resources in the area of Biology and it links to relevant web resources. Use this guide as your starting point. For more resources and further help, come to the Science Library or Ask a Librarian.
Offered by a consortium of 12 major US and UK botanical and natural history libraries with a collection of 46,000-plus titles and 90,000-plus volumes. The biodiversity-related items range in date from 1450 to the present.
It provides a wealth of information in the diverse field of biology offering a forum for discussion, an editable-dictionary with thousands of terms, links to external resources, tutorials, articles and a biology book catalogue with user reviews.
The most complete, largest, and most used resource on the naturalist. This ever prodigious and expanding material now includes Charles Darwin’s Beagle Library, a collection that was aboard the HMS Beagle during Darwin’s tenure there from 1831 to 1836.
FishBase covers a wide range of information on all fish species currently known in the world, including taxonomy, biology, trophic ecology, life history, and uses, as well as historical data reaching back to 250 years.
INFOMINE is a virtual library of Internet resources relevant to faculty, students, and research staff at the university level. It contains useful Internet resources such as databases, electronic journals, electronic books, bulletin boards, mailing lists, online library card catalogs, articles, directories of researchers, and many other types of information.
Comprehensive access to United States government science information and research results. Federated search results including full text research and technical reports from 14 U.S. federal agencies including over 40 databases, almost 2,000 web sites, and 200 million pages of information.
A enormous collection of pre-1920 illustrated zoologies from Europe and the Americas. Are both scientific documents and repositories of examples of reproductive printmaking before photomechanical processes became the primary method of producing book illustrations.