LibGuides: Biology : Articles

Biology E-Journals

Biology electronic journals by topic:

Biology

Biomedical Engineering (120)

Human Anatomy & Physiology

Marine Science (169)

Zoology

Open Access Journals

BioText
Search over more than 300 open access journals.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Is a service that provides access to quality controlled open access journals.
HighWire Press
Facilitates the digital dissemination of 1705 journals, reference works, books, and proceedings.

Need Help!!!

Visit the Science & Agriculture Library
E-mail: scilib@aub.edu.lb
Call: 2165
Get Online Research Assistance

Find Scholarly Articles in Major Databases

Start at the University Libraries Home Page, go to Databases and select Biology, or Multidisciplinary from the drop down menu under 'All Subjects'.

Biology /Core Databases

Agricola This link opens in a new window Produced by the National Agricultural Library, Agricola is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, and containing citations to journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, government documents, reports, patents. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1700-
American Physiological Society (APS) Journals This link opens in a new window Published by the American Physiological Society (APS), this database contains full-text of 15 highly regarded, peer-reviewed journals examining major physiological systems from the cellular and molecular to the organ and system level. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: All from v.1
American Society for Microbiology Journals This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to the contents of 11 journals published by the American Society for Microbiology including Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy, Applied and Environmental Microbiology, Journal of Bacteriology, Journal of Virology, etc. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: All from v.1
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window A full-text online aggregation of various peer-reviewed research journals covering the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences published by scientific societies, institutions, museums, and presses. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1965 to present

Biosis Citation Index
more...less...
A comprehensive database for life science research. It includes cited references to primary journal literature on discoveries of new organisms and vital biological and medical research. It also covers original research reports and reviews in traditional biological and biomedical areas such as botany, zoology, microbiology, pharmacology, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology. The database allows cited reference searching, results analysis, citation mapping, and the creation of citation reports.

MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window A bibliographic database produced by the US National Library of Medicine. It indexes a large number of international biomedical journals covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary, preclinical sciences, and allied health sciences. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1946 to present
MEDLINE (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window Major bibliographic database for the biomedical literature, containing references to articles taken from more than 4600 international journals. An electronic version of Index Medicus published by the National Library of Medicine (Bethesda, USA), plus citations taken from the International Nursing Index and the Index to Dental Literature. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1950 to present
Plant Management Network International This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary resource for applied plant science information and management offering research material on agricultural and horticultural crops. Includes journal articles, news, conference proceedings, reports, efficacy trials, and an image-based pest database. Availability: Full-text and images Date Coverage: Varies

Zoological Record
more...less...
Covers over 5,000 publications on animal biology. The broad scope of coverage ranges from biodiversity and the environment to taxonomy and veterinary sciences. ISI Web of Knowledge. 1864-

SciFinder

SciFinder (first time user, click on the I-icon)

Open Access Databases

AGRIS/Caris International Information 82.12% of records are citations from scientific journals. FAO. 1975-

arXiv.org

Open access to 778,005 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics

BioMed Central Publishes 241 peer-reviewed open access journals

BOND (Biomolecular Object Network Databank) From Unleashed Informatics

Databases at EBI From the European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI)

Data Basin Open access data in conservation. From the Conservation Biology Insitute in partnership with Rhiza Labs

Dryad An international repository of data underlying peer-reviewed articles in the basic and applied biosciences

GBIF (Global Biodiversity Information Facility) Encourages free and open access to biodiversity data

International Plant Names Index

A database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and lycophytes

Molecular Biology Databases A list of 34 databases with annotations plus a list of 7 databases which comply with the Science Commons Open Access Data Protocol

Find Full-text for Citation

If you have the citation of an article, use Citation Linker
OR
go to Journal Finder and type the journal name to see if the library has the full-text of the article.

Multidisciplinary

Google Scholar Logo

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database that provides full-text access to hundreds of electronic journals, plus books and reference works, published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries. 754 of the journal titles are accessible from volume 1. Subjects covered include physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1923 to present
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus, launched in 2004, is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes citation tracking tools. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1823 to present
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window An integrated platform for books, journals, and other materials published by Springer. Includes more than 173,000 titles from every scientific discipline (computer science, medicine, public health, engineering, mathematics, life sciences, etc.) and many social sciences discipline (education, history, political sciences, psychology, etc.) 481 of the journal titles are accessible from volume one. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1832 to present
Web of Science This link opens in a new window 10,000 of the highest impact journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. ISI. 1900- Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including open access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. ISI. 1900-present for citation and general searching.

Compendia

Aquaculture compendium

Egyptian Journal of Zoology
The Egyptian Journal of Zoology (EJZ) is the official journal of the Zoological Society of A. R. Egypt. It is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that publishes two volumes per year. EJZ publishes original research papers, review articles, short communications, technical notes, and letters to the editor in all aspects of zoology, including veterinary and primates researches that promote health protection and management of the diseases. It aims to provide a wide scope for readers in topics related to descriptive, comparative, experimental, and applied zoology.