Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Arab Uprisings: Find Resources

This guide compiles resources about the "Arab Spring" from different think tanks and news sources, and it guides you on how to find relevant information using the library resources.

Background Information

Journals, Magazines, ...

Locate individual journals
    

Selected Titles

Scholarly Articles

Databases

Start at the University Libraries, go to Databases and select Arab, Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies or Multidisciplinary  from the drop down menu under 'All Subjects'

Keywords to use in databases Search Box: Arab spring, awakening, uprising, upheaval, Arab autumn ...

"Full text Options" icon provides link from an article citation in a database to the full text wherever available in the library's collections.

 

Search Engines

I. Search All

Use SearchAll to find articles, books, conference papers, e-reserves, & more

 

Basic Search will search across many fields automatically: title, author, subject terms, call number ... For Advanced Search click here
 

II. Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Lebanon News Index

Check the Lebanon News and Reports Index for citations of articles and reports published in English, French and Arabic.

Keywords to use "Revolution" in the Topic and the "Country name" in the Place

Subject Indexing is done in English. Title, name and place are searchable in Arabic as well.
For questions and full text access contact jftref@aub.edu.lb or call 2620/21.

Newspaper Collections

Start at the University Libraries , go to Databases and select News from the drop down menu under 'All Database Types'.

Arabic Newspapers

Use the University Libraries Microfilm collection to access the back files of

Web Archives