 |
Shakib Arslan, a Lebanese politician and diplomat, poet, and prolific writer, who rallied for Arab Independence from the French and British Mandates. His collection of correspondence and photos spans the years 1936 to 1948; including many letters exchanged between Arslan and his friend and publisher, Mohammad Ali al-Tahir (editor of ālshura, ālshabāb). Link to his collection. |
 |
Renowned Lebanese Druze scholar Sulayman Abu ʻIzz al-Din, 1871-1933, was a researcher and avid collector who accumulated several primary source collections that document Lebanese history as early as the 17th C. This collection comprises Abu Izz al-Din genealogical research on Druze families and notable figures of the Druze society (i.e. Judges, Sheikhs, municipality members) in the Levant. It is a rare selection of genealogical information on this sect. Link to his collection. |
 |
This small collection of Mary Winifred Bushakra's papers, one linear foot, includes her biography, an obituary, and some correspondence, 1938-1972. The letters were written to Emilie Goodale, a teacher in Newark, New Jersey, USA, detailing Winifred’s life as an American woman in Lebanon, and describing the social life of Lebanese Druze. The collection is a reliable source for scholars interested in social life and customs in Lebanon. Link to her collection. |
 |
Abdul Mun’im Talhouk (1913-2004) Professor and world reference in entomology. BS 1948 and MS 1955 both from the American University of Beirut. He received his doctorate from the University of Munich, Germany, in 1960. The collection includes his research around the Middle East, correspondence with scientists, his articles, books, negatives, and photos. It mirrors the long life, research, labor of a prominent entomologist, and his connections with international scientists from around the world. Link to his collection. |
Additionally, you can check out the Kamal Joumblatt Digital Library, that is made in honor of the most influential Druze political leader in the 20th century.
