Druze fighters during the great Syrian revolution
|
Sulayman Abu ʻIzz al-Din Collection,1920s - 1930s Renowned Lebanese Druze scholar Sulayman Abu ʻIzz al-Din, 1871-1933, was a researcher and avid collector who accumulated several primary source collections that document Lebanese history as early as the 17th C. This collection comprises Abu Izz al-Din genealogical research on Druze families and notable figures of the Druze society (i.e. Judges, Sheikhs, municipality members) in the Levant. It is a rare selection of genealogical information on this sect. This collection includes correspondence and photos spanning the years 1936 to 1948. |
|
Aida Kanafani-Zahar Photograph Collection,1977 - 1998 Aida Kanafani-Zahar (1952-) an anthropologist and director of research, at the Centre National de la Recherché Scientifique, Laboratoire d’Anthripology Sociale at the College de France, The collection taken between 1978 and 1998, is mainly about Lebanon, Syria and United Arab Emirates. The photos feature houses, women’s clothes and ornaments, traditional professions, muneh and Ka’ak making, in addition to homemade pastries preparation. This collection includes 228 Photos, several of which are related to the Druze customs and traditions. |
|
Al-Amir Shakib Arslan Collection,1894 - 1946 Shakib Arslan, a Lebanese politician and diplomat, poet, and prolific writer, who rallied for Arab Independence from the French and British Mandates. His collection of correspondence and photos spans the years 1936 to 1948; including many letters exchanged between Arslan and his friend and publisher, Mohammad Ali al-Tahir (editor of ālshura, ālshabāb). This collection includes several photographs about Mount Lebanon after WWI. |
