 |
E. W. Blatchford Collection, 1880-1900 Named after the collector, the Blatchford collection is an important set of around 800 photographs covering Europe, Levant and North Africa, ca. 1880 to 1900. The collection features samples from various important photographers in the Middle East |
 |
Frances Copeland Stickles Photo Collection, 1880-1900 A small collection of 10 albumin print photos taken in the late 19th century, featuring historical locations in the Middle East. Two photos are by Bonfils Studio, one by Dumas and one by Sebah & Joaillier. |
 |
Moore Photograph Collection, 1892-1902 The photographic collection of Franklin Moore, physician and professor of obstetrics (1891-1915) at the Syrian Protestant College, constitutes a historical record of great importance to Lebanon and the American University of Beirut at the turn of the 20th century. The bulk of the images are of the AUB campus, faculty and students; the remaining are images of sites in Lebanon as well as some parts of Syria. |
 |
Joseph and Joyce Stein Photograph Collection, 1896-1930 The Joseph and Joyce Stein Photograph Collection, 36 prints and an album of 53 negatives, portrays the daily life in cities and towns, as well as several archeological sites in Lebanon between 1896-1930. The collection covers different localities in Lebanon: Cedars, Adonis, Afqa, Raouché, Choueifat etc. The collection also depicts the American University of Beirut buildings and grounds as well as students’ extracurricular activities during the early 20th century. |
 |
Three American Sisters Photo Album The album, 120 photos, taken in Lebanon by three American sisters during the Ottoman time portrays the life in the Middle East at the turn of the 20th C. Photos show the protocol of receptions, local peasantry, entertainment and horse racing, village architecture, military processions and bands, as well as sites in Baalbeck, Beirut and Beiteddine. The collection is important to researchers interested in the history and travels to the Lebanon during the Ottoman Era. |
 |
Flowers of the Holy Land Photo Album This album, Flowers of the Holy Land, Jerusalem, consists of 12 black and white photos depicting landmarks of Palestine at the turn of the 20th century along with 12 arrangements of pressed flower specimens of the Holy Land, identified in German, English, French. |
 |
World War I in Palestine Photo Album A small album of 20 photos that well describe World War I in Palestine. The photos document important cities in Palestine like Kuweilfeh, Jerusalem, Jericho, Jaffa, Beersheba, and Er-Ramleh. It is relevant to researchers interested in the history of the Middle East during the Great War. |
 |
Antoura Orphanage Photograph Album The photo album of 29 photographic prints depicts scenes of the daily life, workshops, sports, kitchen, classrooms, refectory, and bedrooms of the orphans of the Armenian Genocide at Antoura Orphanage, Lebanon, between 1915 and 1918. This small collection is relevant to researchers interested in the Armenian Genocide, children refugees in Lebanon and the relief efforts of the Syrian Protestant College (SPC) during World War I. |
 |
Imperial War Museum Photo Albums: First World War, 1916-1919 Photo album from the Imperial War Museum (1916-1919; documenting the last year of the Ottoman Empire of World War I,. The images depict Palestine (the West Bank and Gaza Strip), Lebanon, Syria, Jordan, Iraq, and Egypt. There is also some coverage of the Gulf including Mecca (Saudi Arabia) and Kuwait. Pictures portray religious ceremonies, daily life, arts and crafts, archaeological sites, landscape, demonstrations and conflicts, political leaders, and prominent personalities. |
 |
World War I and King-Crane Commission Photo Album, 1918-1919 This album contains photographs that depict people and focal events that happened in the Middle East at the end of World War I. The most significant of the photographs are King Crane Commission1919. Included also are photographs of the British and Arab troops and portraits of political leaders and military officials. |
