Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Internship Program

This guide introduces the internship program in the University Libraries
Internship Program at the University Libraries internship Icon 1996776
Library and Instruction Services Department

Research and Instruction Services support research and learning activities in the University by promoting the rich library collections, assisting researchers with searching for and citing resources and offering library instruction sessions.

Orientation

The internship starts with a general library tour and orientation of the different functions at the department. 

The Head of the Department assigns a project to the intern and a work plan is prepared by the Head of the Department, mentor, in coordination with intern to match his/her capabilities and interests.

A mentor is assigned to the intern who will be responsible for guiding the latter and following up on his/her work.

Bi-weekly meetings with the Head of the Department are set to overcome any challenges, assess the work of the intern, and apply any necessary modifications to the work plan, when necessary.

A submission of a student self-reflection paper (Maximum one page) to the mentor/Head of the department before receiving a certificate.

 

RESEARCH SERVICES

The mentor will explain thoroughly the main functions of the research services team and will introduce the corresponding policies and procedures. The intern will be introduced to the library webpage, the library collections (print and e-resources) and the use of the discovery and  search tools.The mentor will guide the intern to the main search techniques to locate relevant library resources. The intern will be also introduced to citation management tools. After several assignments and exercices the intern will be trusted to provide research help service under the guidance of the mentor.

Bi-weekly meetings with the Head of the Department are set to overcome any challenges, assess the work of the intern, and apply any necessary modifications to the work plan, when necessary.

Learning Outcome

By the end of the internship, the intern will attain the following:

  • Learn the best practices of providing reference services.
  • Learn about the different types of library resource in print and electronic formats.
  • Learn  advanced search techniques to navigate the library, find materials by title, topic, date or type.
  • Learn how to use a citation management tool.
  • Get some experience with public services including communication and problem solving skills.
  • Learn to be a good team player, develop your professional attitude and work ethics. 

The following activities can be assigned to the intern:

  1. Read the Reference services policies and procedures and become familiar with the library webpage.
  2. Use the SearchAll advanced search to do different types of search in all bibliographic fields.
  3. Navigate the library databases and become very familiar with at least one arlicles database and one e-books database.
  4. Filter and export search results to a citation management tool. 
  5. Write a paragraph comparing two library databases.
  6. Help library users find library resources.
     
OUTREACH SERVICES

The mentor will explain thoroughly the expected duties and will provide access to examples of the previous library outreach activities. 

Bi-weekly meetings with the Head of the Department are set to overcome any challenges and assess the work of the intern and apply any necessary modifications to the work plan if necessary.

Learning outcomes:

  • Experiment and use of the different communication channels used by the library.
  • Use of special communication techniques for different channels of communication, such as news or social media.
  • Identify the different libary stakeholders and the best ways to reach out to each group.
  • Recognize the need for a library outreach strategy and contribute to the planning process.
  • Communicate and build bridges with student and other user groups.
  • Successful news and feature articles writing to raise awareness about the library resources and services.

The following activities can be assigned to the intern:

  1. Learn about library services and activites and feature some of them in news articles.
  2. Write articles to highlight ceratin databases.
  3. Contact student groups for potential collaboration with the library.
  4. Give feddback for planning an outreach strategy for the library.
  5. Identify potential partner in the University at large and propose possible collaboration.