LibGuides: Anthropology : Reference

Why Reference Sources?

Reference materials such as encyclopedias, dictionaries handbooks provides you with background information on your topic (definitions, biographies, dates, key facts...).

Use those resources if you know little information about your topic or you are starting a search on a new topic.

Search Reference Packages

Search an online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference books.

Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window A collection of encyclopedias, books and videos from Sage publication. The database allows users to search and browse titles by subject covering areas such as business, counseling, crime, education, health and social care, family studies, media, psychology, social issues and sociology. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1965 to present
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window This e-book collection provides online access to over 10,000 selected academic books published by Taylor & Francis, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, and approximately 15,000 titles published by CRC Press in science, technology, engineering, and medicine. Availability: full-text Date Coverage: Varies

Selected Dictionaries/Encyclopedias...

The Dictionary of Anthropology
Call Number: J 306:D554b
Publication Date: 1997
Consists of substantial analytical articles focusing on key anthropological concepts, theories and methodologies.
Encyclopedia of Anthropology
Call Number: J 301.03:E563b
Publication Date: 2006
A unique collection of over 1200 entries that focuses on topics in physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics and applied anthropology.
Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology
Call Number: J 305.803:E56en
Publication Date: 1996
340 entries mainly comprise subjects, theoretical constructs, geographical/cultural areas, cultural groups, and important organizations related to anthropology.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Call Number: J 305.8:E56b2
Publication Date: 2010
Combining anthropological theory and ethnography, it includes substantial entries, short biographies of important figures in anthropology, and glossary items.
Encyclopedia of Sociology
Call Number: J 301.03:E56e2
Publication Date: 2000
Covers issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy & abortion, privacy, epidemiology, etc.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
Call Number: J 305.803:E56e
Publication Date: 1991-2002
Published with the assistance of the Human Relations Area Files of Yale University
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Publication Date: 2001
Comprises 4,000 articles, commissioned by 52 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences
Call Number: J 303:I61i:2008
Publication Date: 2008
Multidisciplinary in scope, the Encyclopedia, is invaluable for studies in sociology, political science, economics, anthropology, psychology and other fields.