LibGuides: Anthropology : Articles

Find Journals

Use Journal Finder to find journals on your topic.

Journal Packages

Wiley Online Library - Anthropology

See also Journal Online Packages guide

Open Access Journals

AnthroSource
Directory Open Access Journals
Browse by subject (Geography. Anthropology. Recreation)
Free Open Access Anthropology Journals

Find Articles

Use the Library databases to search for articles. Databases collect and index a big number of journals running through long time periods. They offer searching features that help you find what you need using and combining keywords, limiting your search by type of publication or date and other search techniques.

Find databases in Sociology
Try also Multidisciplinary databases, to find journal articles not covered in subject specific databases
See databases search techniques

In most cases you can access the articles in full text, or link to the full text from a different source.

Search Articles in JSTOR

Humanities and Social Sciences Databases

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database indexing leading arts and humanities journals. This bibliographic database is accessed via Web of Science and allows cited reference searching, results analysis, and citation mapping. Subjects covered include archeology, architecture, dance, film and theater, history, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, and religion. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1975 to present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR, a digital library for scholars, researchers and students, provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines including business, economics, humanities, medicine, mathematics, science, and social sciences. Library's subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Global Plants and Life Sciences. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1665 to present
Project Muse Journals This link opens in a new window An online collection of journals from scholarly and academic presses including John Hopkins University Press. The collection provides access to arts, humanities, and social sciences in scholarly journals that are peer-reviewed. Subject covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, economics, and many others. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: All from v.1
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database indexing social sciences journals across fifty disciplines. Subjects covered include anthropology, sociology, urban studies, business and communication, criminology, law, nursing, and rehabilitation. The database is accessed via Web of Science and allows cited reference searching, results analysis, citation mapping, and the creation of citation reports. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1900 to present

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database, covering a wide array of subject areas ranging from astronomy, biomedicine, engineering, health, and literacy to mathematics, women's studies, zoology and more. The database includes magazines, peer reviewed and scholarly journals, trade publications, newspapers, reports, books and videos. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1890 - present
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database that supports research in more than 160 subject areas covering arts and humanities, business and management, health and medicine, science and technology, and social sciences. It includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, market reports and videos. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1905 to present
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus, launched in 2004, is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes citation tracking tools. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1823 to present
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science, an authoritative and multidisciplinary citation database, allows searching of core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes current and retrospective coverage dating to 1900. Also features "cited reference" search capabilities. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1900 to present
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Wiley Online Library allows searching of articles from hundreds of electronic journals published by Wiley and related companies, as well as a vast and growing collection of reference works and other books. 115 of the journal titles are accessible from volume one. Content is multidisciplinary . Availability: Bibliographic citations and selected full-text Date Coverage: Varies

Find Full-text for Citation

If you have the citation of an article use Citation Linker OR go to Journal Finder and type the journal name to see if the library has the full-text of the article.

Find Review Articles

Use the Annual Reviews database to search a collection of critical review articles published in the Annual Review of Anthropology

Peer-Reviewed Articles

What Are Peer-Reviewed Articles? As part of the publication process, articles in scholarly journals are reviewed by committees of other notable scholars. Such reviewers are considered to be the writer's peers.

Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles? When searching for articles in a general database look for the "limit your search" options. Most databases provide "limit to peer-reviewed journals" option.

Watch tutorial 'Peer Review in 5 minutes'