LibGuides: Sociology: Reference

Start Here

Search Gale Virtual Reference LibraryThis link opens in a new window

GVRL contains a collection of encyclopedias and reference works such as "Encyclopedia of Population", "Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, & Addictive Behavior", "World Press Encyclopedia", etc.

E-Reference Packages

Search an online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference books.

Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window A collection of encyclopedias, books and videos from Sage publication. The database allows users to search and browse titles by subject covering areas such as business, counseling, crime, education, health and social care, family studies, media, psychology, social issues and sociology. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1965 to present
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window This e-book collection provides online access to over 10,000 selected academic books published by Taylor & Francis, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, and approximately 15,000 titles published by CRC Press in science, technology, engineering, and medicine. Availability: full-text Date Coverage: Varies

Handbooks

The International Handbook of Sociology by Stella R. Quah (Editor); Arnaud Sales (Editor)
Call Number: J 301:I61q
Publication Date: 2000
The Sage Handbook of Sociology by Bryan S. Turner (Editor); Chris Rojek (Editor); Craig Calhoun (Editor)
Call Number: J 301:S129c
Publication Date: 2005

Encyclopedias

WHAT IS REFERENCE?

Reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and biographies help you find factual and background information about your topic.

It is advisable to look at more than one source of information to get the most information and to have a more balanced view of the topic.

Google and Wikipedia could be good places to start your search for general and initial ideas about your topic. But you will always have to use Library resources to get more credible information.

SELECTED DICTIONARIES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS...

Blackwell encyclopedia of sociology online
Cambridge dictionary of sociology
Dictionary of statistics & methodology: a nontechnical guide for the social sciences
Encyclopedia of children and childhood
Encyclopedia of clothing and fashion
Encyclopedia of communication and information
Encyclopedia of crime & justice
Encyclopedia of gender and society
Encyclopedia of genocide and crimes against humanity
Encyclopedia of race, ethnicity, and society
Encyclopedia of social problems
Encyclopedia of social theory
Encyclopedia of sociology
Encyclopedia of stress
Encyclopedia of urban studies
Encyclopedia of violence, peace, & conflict
Human Development Report
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences This 9-volume study of social sciences is a successor to the Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (1930-1935) and the initial set of the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (1968). The new edition highlights the influence of economics in social science research and features nearly 3,000 new articles and important biographies contributed by thousands of scholars from around the world. The encyclopedia covers a wide array of global topics, including: censorship, personality measurement, aging, income distribution, foreign aid, food, cultural adaptation, comparative health-care systems, terrorism, political correctness, agricultural innovation, legislation of morality, sexual violence and more.
International encyclopedia of the social sciences
Sage encyclopedia of social science research methods
World education encyclopedia
See More

Sociology: Reference

Start Here

E-Reference Packages

Handbooks

Encyclopedias .innerbox_3 { font-weight: bold; }

Encyclopedias