LibGuides: Sociology: Books

Find Books

Search the Library Catalog to find books and other materials available at the University Libraries.

Western Travellers in the Islamic WorldThis link opens in a new window A collection of primary sources documenting the political, diplomatic, commercial, and cultural relations between the Islamic world and the West in the pre-modern period.

Writing Service Handouts: Includes helpful guides on academic integrity, essay format, sentence structure...

How to do social research
Help students become practising sociologists.
The Sociology student writer's manual
Combines the latest sociology research and writing techniques. Includes a Handbook of Style for Sociology.

II. Access e-Books througth individual E-Books collections such as:

eHRAF World Cultures eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering allaspects of cultural and social life.

Elsevier eBooks This link opens in a new window A collection of electronic books published by Elsevier serving a wide range of research needs in the life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: Complete collection till 2019
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary collection of reference and scholarly e-books from hundreds of university presses, trade publishers, and popular presses. The content covers 16 key subject areas including: business and economics, computers and IT, education, fine arts, history, literature and linguistics, life science, medicine, political science etc... Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1999 to present

World Bank eLibrary publishes research on a broad range of global and regional issues affecting developing countries.

Selected Titles

Tackling Domestic Violence by Jilll Radford; Lynne Harne
This accessible text takes a multi-disciplinary approach to exploring issues surrounding domestic violence. It draws on contemporary research findings, policy developments, innovative practice and case studies to explore new directions in professional and voluntary sector responses to domestic violence.
Investing in Young Children by Sophie Naudeau; World Bank Staff
The World Bank created this Early Child Development (ECD) Guide in response to a growing demand from Task Team Leaders (TTLs) for advice and support to facilitate the policy dialogue on the topic of ECD and to help policy makers make and implement relevant choices on how to best invest in ECD in the context of their country’s economy and national priorities.
Why Women Mean Business by Avivah Wittenberg-Cox; Alison Maitland
Why Women Mean Business takes the economic arguments for change to the heart of the corporate world. This powerful new book analyses the opportunities available to companies that really understand what motivates women in the workplace and the marketplace.