LibGuides: Sociology: Articles

Peer-Reviewed Articles

What Are Peer-Reviewed Articles?
As part of the publication process, articles in scholarly journals are reviewed by committees of other notable scholars. Such reviewers are considered to be the writer's peers.

Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles?
When searching for articles in a general database look for the "limit your search" options. Most databases provide "limit to peer-reviewd journals" option.

See Tutorial Peer Review in 5 minutes North Carolina State University Libraries. July 10, 2009 [5:11 minutes]

Find Newspaper Articles

Lebanon News and Reports Index Indexed materials are drawn from local journals and newspapers, and from public sector and international organizations websites. 2006-
LexisNexis Academic Full text of thousands of national and international magazines, newspapers, wire services, radio and TV transcripts. Covers current events, legal news, and business news including company profiles and financial reports, SEC filings and reports. 1980-

Arabic Databases

EduSearch: علم الاجتماع والخدمة الاجتماعية An educational information portal covering a large number of scientific and education journals issued in Arabic, in addition to educational conferences and seminars. Subjects covered include adult education and literacy, curriculum and teaching, e-learning, methods, educational administration, educational psychology, educational technology, learning difficulties, modern educational trends...

E-Marefa = معرفة This link opens in a new window Arabic language database providing access to academic journals and statistical reports from the Arab world. The information is published by universities, research centers, central banks, scientific associations and regional organizations. Content includes articles, theses, dissertations, reports, and statistics. Subjects covered comprise: humanities, social sciences, medicine, business, engineering, and sciences. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1991 to present
Al Manhal = المنهل This link opens in a new window Arabic database providing access to full-text searchable publications from the Arab world’s leading publishers, universities and research centers. Covers a wide range of topics: business, history, geography, Islamic studies, language and literature, political science, social sciences, science and technology. Includes books, journals, strategic studies, dissertations and videos. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1973 to present

Preprint Servers

SocArXiv
open access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers, with the option to link data and code.

Find Articles

Use the Library databases to search for articles. Databases collect and index a big number of journals running through long time periods. They offer searching features that help you find what you need using and combining keywords, limiting your search by type of publication or date and other search techniques.

Find Databases in Sociology
Try also Multidisciplinary databases, to find journal articles not covered in subject specific databases
See Databases Search Techniques

In most cases you can access the articles in full text, or link to the full text from a different source.

Social Science Databases

Library Databases

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window A psychology database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and other publishers. Subjects covered include behavioral sciences and therapies, biomedical sciences and health, nursing, psychiatry, sociology, theory, personality and more. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1894 to present
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the field of psychology. This database, provided by the American Psychology Association (APA) covers the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, etc... Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1887 to present
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database indexing social sciences journals across fifty disciplines. Subjects covered include anthropology, sociology, urban studies, business and communication, criminology, law, nursing, and rehabilitation. The database is accessed via Web of Science and allows cited reference searching, results analysis, citation mapping, and the creation of citation reports. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1900 to present
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window Database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. It covers a wide range of topics including citizen’s rights, environment, family issues, global issues, society, and much more. The database includes materials from essays, political magazines, newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts, primary documents and reference books. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1900 to present

Related Databases

eHRAF World Cultures A cross cultural database, produced by the Human Relations Area Files (HRAF), Inc. at Yale University. It contains descriptive information on all aspect of cultural and social life.
Global Economic Monitor (World Bank)  Provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income- as well as developing countries.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) An international consortium of about 700 academic institutions and research organizations. It provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Population Index (Open Access) It presents an annotated bibliography of published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. Princeton University. 1986-2000

Statistics Guide

Multidisicplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database, covering a wide array of subject areas ranging from astronomy, biomedicine, engineering, health, and literacy to mathematics, women's studies, zoology and more. The database includes magazines, peer reviewed and scholarly journals, trade publications, newspapers, reports, books and videos. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1890 - present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full text archiving (in PDF format) of selected scholarly journals going bsack to the 1st issue. It does not include the most recent three to five years.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database that supports research in more than 160 subject areas covering arts and humanities, business and management, health and medicine, science and technology, and social sciences. It includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, market reports and videos. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1905 to present
Scopus This link opens in a new window Excellent for citation searching The largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. Covers 3,500 A&H titles starting 2002 and including Project Muse titles starting 1990-present and more than 2,850 peer-reviewed journals in Social Sciences. Citation search starts 1996-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Excellent for citation searching A large multidisciplinary database. It provides access to bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references from scholarly journals including open access journals. This database consists of:Social Sciences Citation Index - 1800 journals from 1956; Arts & Humanities Citation Index - 1100 journals from 1975- and Conference Proceedings Citation Index™ 1990. ISI Web of Knowledge.

Find Journals

I. Use Journal Finder to:

II. Journal Online Packages:

Duke Journals Online

Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window A collection of over 230 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations. Includes arts and humanities; life science and medicine; mathematics and physical sciences; and social sciences journals. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: All from v.1
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window An online collection of peer review journals out of which 295 titles are accessible from volume one, issue one. The database is browsable by titles and covers four primary topics: social science and humanities, health science, life and biomedical sciences, materials science and engineering. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: All from v.1
Taylor & Francis Journals This link opens in a new window Online access to over 900 peer-reviewed journals covering disciplines in science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities and social sciences published by Taylor & Francis, Routledge, and Psychology Press imprints. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: All from v.1

III. Selected list of print / electronic journals on Social Sciences.

IV. List of Open Access Journals:

V. Sociology E-journals by Subject:

Find Full-text for Citation

If you have the citation of an article, use Citation Linker
OR
go to Journal Finder and type the journal name to see if the library has the full-text of the article.

Sociology: Articles