Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Evidence Based Public Health (EBPH)

This guide provides information about EPH from definition, model & steps to databases, books, journals, guidelines, etc.

Databases for Policy Makers

Some of the databases that are of the concern of policy makers are listed below.

This 

Guidelines

These are databases providing guidelines in evidence-based medicine, nursing and public health.

Agency for Healthcare Research and QualityOpen Access

Clinician guides from The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) Effective Health Care Program.

Guide to Community Preventive ServiceOpen Access

The Guide to Community Preventive Services is an evidence-based resource of recommendations from systematic reviews of public health interventions.

National Guidelines Clearinghouse (NGC)Open Access

The National Guidelines Clearinghouse (NGC) database contains evidence-based clinical practice guidelines with structured, standardized summaries.

NICE - National Institute for Health Care Excellence, Public Health GuidanceOpen Access

Guidance documents for public health that include recommendations and full supporting reviews.

Searching for EBPH Information

The list below provide appraised and pre-appraised evidence databases.

 

The Canadian Best Practices Portal (PHAC) provides information including guidelines, systematic reviews, health promotion strategies and best practice interventions.

The Canadian Best Practices Portal (PHAC) provides information including guidelines, systematic reviews, health promotion strategies and best practice interventions.This site provide links to reports and recommendations, including guidelines and articles from the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR).

The EPPI Centre Knowledge Library includes a database of key messages from EPPI Centre systematic reviews.
Searches are updated monthly. To date, over 1,535,000 titles have been screened. 7 electronic bibliographic databases have been searched from 1995 to present, they are MEDLINE, EMBASE, CINAHL, BIOSIS, PsycINFO, SPORTDiscus, Sociological Abstracts. For MEDLINE, EMBASE, CINAHL and PsycINFO, we have developed methodological search filters to retrieve systematic reviews, meta-analyses and metasyntheses that evaluate the effectiveness of public health interventions. For Handsearch, the Cochrane Library fis screened for new, updated and withdrawn reviews. We also receive and screen the following evidence services: National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tool's PublicHealth+; Knowledge Translation+ (KT+); Best Evidence for Nursing+; MacPLUS Federated Search; Health Systems Evidence. It is a registry of systematic reviews about the effectiveness of public health and health promotion interventions and has summaries of systematic reviews that identify the results of reviews and corresponding implications for policy and practice.
A list of interactive databases by Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation providing data about Disability-Adjusted Life Years and Healthy Life Expectancy, Sustainable Goal Developments, Risk Factors, Years Lived with Disability, etc.
A bibliographic database produced by the US National Library of Medicine.
Public Health+ is a database that systematically reviews over 120 journals and includes rating of each  eligible article for clinical relevance and newsworthiness by at least 3 practitioners for each discipline for which the article might be pertinent.
NHS Evidence covers a wide range of information including: guidance, systematic reviews of research, implementation tools and practical examples.
Bibliographic database for biomedical literature including citations from MEDLINE database, life science journals and online books.
A multidisciplinary navigational tool that contains records going back to the1820soffering newly-linked citations across the widest body of scientific abstracts available in one place.

The world’s most comprehensive, free access point for evidence about strengthening 20 government sectors and program areas, and achieving the Sustainable Development Goals.

Explore places and situations where there is risk of exposure to hazardous chemicals, contaminants, and pollution. Learn how to minimize the risk of harmful health effects from these substances.

The TRIP Database is a federated search engine that searches multiple sources.
Multidisciplinary database indexing conference proceedings and articles gathered from thousands of high impact scholarly journals.
World Health Organization's resources from data, fact sheets, facts in pictures, and publications on many health topics.

Data Visualization

World Inequality DatabaseOpen Access

A freely available website that aims to provide open and convenient access to the most extensive available database on the historical evolution of the world distribution of income and wealth, both within countries and between countries.

OECD.StatOpen Access

A freely available website that includes data and metadata for Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development countries and selected non-member economies.

HealthMapOpen Access

A freely available website 'healthmap.org' and mobile app 'Outbreaks Near Me' delivering real-time intelligence over a broad range of emerging infectious diseases which is useful for local health departments, governments, and international travelers.

Country ProfilesOpen Access

It provide an overview of findings from the Global Burden of Disease (GBD). They are based on over 80,000 different data sources used by researchers to produce the most scientifically rigorous estimates possible.

Epi VisualizationOpen Access

An interactive tool, in which one can explore data inputs and epidemiological estimates from the GBD project.

GBD CompareOpen Access

An interactive tool that analyzes updated estimates of the world’s health for 359 diseases and injuries and 84 risk factors from 1990 to a one year embargo. It allows the utilization of maps, arrow diagrams, and many other charts to compare causes and risks within a country, countries, regions or the world, and more.

For more interactive data visualization tools, check GBD Data Visualizations by Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation.

UNdataOpen Access

A web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies.

2019 Revision of World Population Prospects- United Nations DESA/ Population DivisionOpen Access

The twenty-sixth round of official United Nations population estimates and projections that have been prepared by the Population Division of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat. The main results are presented in a series of Excel files displaying key demographic indicators for each UN development group, World Bank income group, geographic region, Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) region, subregion and country or area for selected periods or dates within 1950-2100. It provides, interactive data, maps, graphs, publications, and data sources.