Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Collections at AUB

This is a general guide about digital collections, highlighting major digital collections at AUB as well as selected Middle Eastern digital collections around the world.

 

Digital Archives and Special Collections 


The AUB University Archives document the history of AUB since its inception in 1866, until the present. The Archives and Special Collections (ASC) include Archival materials, Manuscripts, Maps, Photographs, Posters, Postcards, Theses, Projects, Dissertations and more. 
Some of these collections are digitized, while other collections have finding aids and can be accessed on-site.


Digital ASC Collections

https://libraries.aub.edu.lb/xtf/data/campus/ark86073b3cp5m/thumb.jpg         https://libraries.aub.edu.lb/xtf/data/campus/ark86073b3r609/thumb.jpg

The Digitized Collection of Yearbooks begins with "The Apothecary 1946" and extends to the current year. The yearbooks collection provides a window to AUB campus life and how it evolved through the years.It documents campus buildings and grounds, AUB culture and students’ vibrant life, covering activities of organizations and clubs, as well as athletics and sports.

The hard copies of this collection are housed in the Jafet Memorial Library, Archives and Special Collections Department.

 

Posters Collections:


The Art Posters in Lebanon Collection was donated to the Libraries of the American University of Beirut (AUB) after the "Exhibition on Art Posters in Lebanon", March 2001.
The collection of art posters dates between early sixties until the late twentieth century. The collection can also be browsed through this link.
 

The Political Posters were gathered from the walls of the AUB campus, between the 1960s and the 1980s. A significant part of the collection covers two main topics: The Palestinian Question, Lebanon, and the Lebanese Civil War. This collection is digitized and can be browsed through this link​.

Other collections have finding aids and can be accessed on-site.

 

     

The Postcards Collection comprises postcards collected by 'Īsá Iskandar al Maʻlūf and document sites in Lebanon, Palestine and Syria. The collection covers archeological sites, scenes of cities, villages, and towns along with urban and rural life.The collection includes both color and black-and-white imagery. The postcards date ranges between early to mid-20th century.

 

Photos Collections

E.W. Blatchford Photograph ​Collection​, late 19th, early 20th century: The collection is comprised of 801 albumen print photographs of the Middle East, North Africa, and Europe.

Moore Photograph Collection​, 1892-1902: Around 106 black and white photos of the AUB campus, Lebanon and the region.