Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Images in Books
Books are great sources for finding good quality images. Go to the Library Catalog and perform a keyword search to find illustrated books.
Images in Databases
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Image database containing over 2 million high-quality images in all areas of the arts. Features works of art from museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. Covers many time periods and culture, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, fashion and other forms of visual culture. Users can view, enlarge, download, and compare images.
Date Coverage: Varies
Hint: Log-in is require to save and download images
Oxford Art Online (9 simultaneous users ) This link opens in a new window
The gateway to Oxford’s art reference works, including Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Provides 45,000 articles on fine arts, over 13,000 art images, and 21,000 biographies of artists, architects, etc.
Availability : Full-text and images
Date Coverage: Current
Limitations: 9 simultaneous users
Wikimedia Commons: Archaeology
a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips). Most Wikimedia images are pulled from other web sources
Find Archaeological Images
Archaeological site images
208,429 archaeological site stock photos, vectors, and illustrations are available royalty-free
Digital Library of the Middle East: Type - Image
The Digital Library of the Middle East (DLME) proposes to federate Middle Eastern collections from around the world, creating a publicly accessible, seamlessly interoperable digital library of cultural material.
Non-Professional Archaeological Photographs Project
This project has the aim to preserve non-professional documentation of archaeological campaigns – prior to the 1980s – to the future and make it accessible to the public via digital archives.