LibGuides: Archaeology : Articles

Find Journals

Click here for a list of selected journals in Archaeology

Google Scholar

If you are ON CAMPUS, you might want to search Google Scholar as it links you to materials available through the University Libraries.

Ranking

Journal Rankings on Archeology - Scimago

Find Articles

Use the Library databases to search for articles. Databases collect and index a big number of journals running through long time periods. They offer searching features that help you find what you need using and combining keywords, limiting your search by type of publication or date and other search techniques.

Find Databases in Archeology
Try also Multidisciplinary databases, to find journal articles not covered in subject specific databases
See Databases Search Techniques

In most cases you can access the articles in full text, or link to the full text from a different source.

Major Databases

eHRAF Archaeology eHraf Archeology is a cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory. It covers a broad range of topics such as arts, history, prehistory, culture change, life cycle, material culture and more. Traditions can be browsed by regions and countries. Human Realtions Area File. 1997-

JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR, a digital library for scholars, researchers and students, provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines including business, economics, humanities, medicine, mathematics, science, and social sciences. Library's subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Global Plants and Life Sciences. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1665 to present
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window A comprehensive resource for art information offering full-text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications including journals, dissertations and art reproductions. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1972 to present
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database indexing leading arts and humanities journals. This bibliographic database is accessed via Web of Science and allows cited reference searching, results analysis, and citation mapping. Subjects covered include archeology, architecture, dance, film and theater, history, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, and religion. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1975 to present
GeoRef This link opens in a new window Produced by the American Geological Institute, GeoRef is a comprehensive geosciences database containing over 2.8 million bibliographic records to the geoscience literature of the world. Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing in the GeoRef database as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, and theses and dissertations. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1800 to present
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window Published by Brill, this bibliographic database indexes publications on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. It Indexes journal articles, book materials, conference proceedings and book reviews. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1906- present
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window An archive of hundred of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It contains periodicals from the 17th to early 20th centuries. The periodical archive is international in scope and spread across a wide variety of subject areas including architecture, archaeology, folklore, geography, history, law, literature, religion, and women's studies. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1813-2002
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window An electronic index to articles published in over 6,000 periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. PIO covers a broad range of subjects including anthropology, architecture, arts, history, linguistics, literature, philosophy, religion, and much more. The collection provides access, where available, to page images in the related Periodicals Archive Online (PAO). Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1665-2006

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database, covering a wide array of subject areas ranging from astronomy, biomedicine, engineering, health, and literacy to mathematics, women's studies, zoology and more. The database includes magazines, peer reviewed and scholarly journals, trade publications, newspapers, reports, books and videos. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1890 - present
Scopus This link opens in a new window Excellent for citiation searching The largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources including conference proceedings and patent records. Covers 3,500 Arts and Humanities titles starting and including Project Muse titles starting 1990-present. Citation search starts 1996-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Excellent for citiation searching A large multidisciplinary database. It provides access to bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references from scholarly journals including open access journals. It include Arts and Humanities Citation Index - 1100 journals from 1975- . ISI Web of Knowledge. 1898-
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database that supports research in more than 160 subject areas covering arts and humanities, business and management, health and medicine, science and technology, and social sciences. It includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, market reports and videos. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1905 to present

Open Access Databases

ABZU Bibliography
Abzu is an index to open access material covering the Ancient Near East, Classics and Mediteranean Archaeology.Oriental Institute of the University of Chicago.
AWOL - The Ancient World Online
Alphabetical List of Open Access Journals in Ancient Studies
ARCHWAY
The archaeology journal holdings of over 20 UK university, museum and private libraries have been united to create one searchable resource.
JURN
Searches hundreds of free scholarly e-journals in the arts and humanities.
Bibliography of the History of Art
It covers a broad range of fine and applied arts including archaeology, architecture, decorative arts, folk art, industrial art, painting, photography, prints, drawing, sculpture, theater and festivals. Getty Research Institute. 1973-
ZENON DAI
Catalog of the German Archaeological Institute. Includes monographs, periodicals and essays from the collections of the DAI

Find Full-text for Citation

If you have the citation of an article, use Citation Linker OR go to Journal Finder and type the journal name to see if the library has the full-text of the article.

Archaeology : Articles