LibGuides: History: Reference

What is Reference ?

Reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and biographies help you find factual and background information about your topic.

Google and Wikipedia could be good places to start your search for general and initial ideas about your topic. But you will always have to use Library resources to get more credible information.

Contemporary History

A dictionary of contemporary history, 1945 to the present
Publication Date: c1999
The 9/11 Encyclopedia
Publication Date: c2008
World politics since 1945
Publication Date: 1996
A concise history of the Middle East
Publication Date: c2006
History of the Cold War
Publication Date: Pantheon Books, [1968-69]

Internet Resources

EyeWitness to History
Reference site of historical dates and events.
Hyperhistory
more...less...
A voluminous website using multiple windows containing more than 2,000 files covering 3000 years, interconnected throughout the site.
World History at KMLA
Outlines of world history.
تاريخ الحكام و السلالات الحاكمة

Selected Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia of Islam, First Edition This link opens in a new window The encyclopedia offers access to 9,000 articles and reflects the first highly international collaboration of scholars in this field. The scope of the Encyclopedia of Islam First Edition Online is philology, history, theology and law until early 20th century. The encyclopedia was originally published in print between 1913 and 1936. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1913-1936 The demand for an encyclopaedic work on Islam was created by the increasing (colonial) interest in Muslims and Islamic cultures during the nineteenth century.
Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference work on the Islamic world. It contains the entire text of volume I to XII of the printed edition. It includes articles on famous Muslim personalities, tribes and dynasties, Islamic crafts, political and religious institutions, ethnography, history, monuments of the major towns and cities and much more. It contains articles, figures, drawings, genealogical tables, maps, and biographies. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1954-2004
Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE This link opens in a new window Covers a wider range of disciplines and methodologies than the 2nd edition with new articles reflecting the diversity of current scholarship. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century, attention to Muslim minorities all over the world, full attention to social science as well as humanistic perspectives. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 2007 to present

Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
Publication Date: Oxford University Press, 2003
Late antiquity a guide to the postclassical world
Publication Date: 1999
Medieval World
Publication Date: Routledge, 2001
The concise Oxford dictionary of the Christian Church
Publication Date: Oxford University Press, 1977
The Oxford encyclopedia of women in world history by edited by Bonnie G. Smith
Publication Date: Oxford University Press, c2008
The Thames and Hudson dictionary of the Italian Renaissance
Publication Date: Thames and Hudson, 1981, rept. 1995
World War I
ISBN: 0828104344
Publication Date: Houghton Mifflin, 1987
World War II
Publication Date: Houghton Mifflin, 1987, c1966

World History

Encyclopedia of world history
Publication Date: c2008
The Hutchinson chronology of world history
International conflict a chronological encyclopedia of conflicts and their management, 1945-1995
Publication Date: c1997
The Routledge companion to world history since 1914
Publication Date: Routledge, 2005

Search Reference Databases

Cambridge Companions This link opens in a new window The complete collection of companions published by Cambridge University Press. The Cambridge Companions Platform offers four collections: The Complete Companions The Companions to Literature and Classics The Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture The Companions to Music Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: Complete collection till end of 2021
Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new window An essential reference work covering all aspects of the classical world from literature and history to religion, science, and archaeology. It provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, law, linguistics, philosophy, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 2012

Find Reference Books and E-Books

Use the Library Catalog to find books and other materials available at the University Libraries.

SearchAll

Use SearchAll to search across the Library resources. Limit search results to Reference.

List of Online Encyclopedias

List of Online Encyclopedias

History: Reference