LibGuides: History: Articles

Start Here: Historical Abstracts

SearchAll One Stop Search

Use SearchAll to search across all resources in the Library. Use the limit frature in the search results page to refine your search.

Find Articles in a specific journal

Use Journal Finder to find articles in a particular journal:

JSTOR Daily

JSTOR Daily: Politics and History
where news meets its scholarly match.
It provides context for current events using scholarship found in JSTOR

Find Scholarly articles in Library Databases

Use the Library databases to search for articles. Databases collect and index a big number of journals running through long time periods. Databases offer searching features that help you find what you need using and combining keywords, and limiting your search by type and date of publication. see Search Techniques.

Start your search using subject databases, then use Multidisciplinary databases for a broader coverage.

In most databases you can access the articles in full text, or link to the full text from a different source.

History Databases

Brill Online Journals This link opens in a new window The database provides full text access to scholarly journal articles, covering Ancient Near East, Humanities, Middle East and Islamic Studies. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: All from v.1
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. It indexes articles, books, conference papers, dissertations and theses about history and related disciplines such as archeology, anthropology and sociology. Also provides access to the full text of more than 330 journals and 119 books back to 1955. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1954- present Print Equivalent: Historical Abstracts: Part A, Modern History Abstracts (1450-1914) Historical Abstracts Part B, Twentieth-Century Abstracts (1914 to the present) Features: Direct link to RefWorks (Citation Management Software) Link to Full-Text options via OpenURL
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR, a digital library for scholars, researchers and students, provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines including business, economics, humanities, medicine, mathematics, science, and social sciences. Library's subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Global Plants and Life Sciences. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1665 to present
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window Published by Brill, this bibliographic database indexes publications on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. It Indexes journal articles, book materials, conference proceedings and book reviews. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1906- present
Cambridge Journals This link opens in a new window A Collection of 230 peer-reviewed academic journals published by Cambridge University Press and containing the latest research. All titles are accessible from volume 1, issue 1. Subjects covered: agriculture, architecture, biology, computer science, economics, engineering, history, language, mathematics, medicine, political sciences, psychology, &much more. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: All from v.1

Multidisicplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage: 1865-
Project Muse Journals This link opens in a new window An online collection of journals from scholarly and academic presses including John Hopkins University Press. The collection provides access to arts, humanities, and social sciences in scholarly journals that are peer-reviewed. Subject covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, economics, and many others. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: All from v.1
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science, an authoritative and multidisciplinary citation database, allows searching of core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes current and retrospective coverage dating to 1900. Also features "cited reference" search capabilities. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1900 to present
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window 11,500 titles with over 8,500 titles in full text.

Open Access Databases

History Cooperative It is a nonprofit humanities resource offering online history scholarship. In addition to full-text articles the site contains multimedia elements.
Ancient World Online AWO Alphabetical list of Open Access Journals in Ancient Studies
ABZU Bibliography A guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world. .

History: Articles

Start Here: Historical Abstracts.innerbox_3 { font-weight: bold; }