Geology: Internet Links

This site is an interface to a crystal structure database that includes every structure published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, European Journal of Mineralogy and Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, as well as selected datasets from other journals. The database is maintained under the care of the Mineralogical Society of America and the Mineralogical Association of Canada, and financed by the National Science Foundation.

The Cornell University's Geoscience Information System Project, started in 1995, is a major initiative that targets to develop a comprehensive Geoscience Information System for the geosciences.

IRIS is a consortium of over 100 US universities dedicated to the operation of science facilities for the acquisition, management, and distribution of seismological data. IRIS programs contribute to scholarly research, education, earthquake hazard mitigation, and verification of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty.

Mineralogy Database contains 4,714 individual mineral species descriptions with links and a comprehensive image library. Each mineral has a page linked to tables devoted to crystallography, crystal structures, X-Ray powder diffraction, chemical composition, physical and optical properties, Dana's New classification, Strunz classification, mineral specimen images, and alphabetical listings of mineral species.

Statistics and information on the worldwide supply of, demand for, and flow of minerals and materials essential to the U.S. economy, the national security, and protection of the environment.

NGDC provides stewardship, products and services for geophysical data describing the solid earth, marine, and solar-terrestrial environment, as well as earth observations from space.
NGDC's data holdings currently contain more than 400 digital and analog databases, some of which are very large. As technology advances, so does the search for more efficient ways of preserving these data.

This website presents more than 6,300 Volcanic Activity Reports (hereafter, "reports"). Most came from a world-wide network of correspondents interested in active volcanoes, which we call the Global Volcanism Network (GVN). Hundreds of individuals and organizations have contributed reports.

The UCMP website contains thousands of pages of content about the history of life on Earth.

The NCGR monitors in real time seismic activity in Lebanon and world wide through a seismological network.
The centre is also interested in conducting gravity and GPS surveys as well as geological exploration in order to identify active faulting and thus compile a zoning map of Lebanon