LibGuides: Geology: Articles

Start Here

Search GeoRefThis link opens in a new window

Journal Finder

Use Journal Finder to find articles in a particular journal:

Browse our E-Journals in the field of Geology:

Subheadings in Earth & Environmental Sciences: Geology

Find Scholarly articles in Library Databases

Use the Library databases to search for articles. Databases collect and index a big number of journals running through long time periods. Databases offer searching features that help you find what you need using and combining keywords, and limiting your search by type and date of publication. see Search Techniques.

Start your search using subject databases, then use Multidisciplinary databases for a broader coverage.

In most databases you can access the articles in full text, or link to the full text from a different source.

Core Databases

American Geophysical Union (AGU) Journals This link opens in a new window Full-text scholarly journals covering research in the earth and space sciences, from the initial journal publication dates to present. Topics covered include Atmospheric Science; Climate change; Engineering and Applied Geophysics, Geochemistry, Mineralogy, Geology and Geophysics; Hydrology, Cryosphere, and Earth Surface. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: All from v.1
GeoRef This link opens in a new window Produced by the American Geological Institute, GeoRef is a comprehensive geosciences database containing over 2.8 million bibliographic records to the geoscience literature of the world. Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing in the GeoRef database as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, and theses and dissertations. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1800 to present
GeoScienceWorld journals This link opens in a new window A collection of geosciences peer-reviewed journals from American Association of Petroleum Geologists, Geological Society of America, Geological Society of London, and other societies. Sample titles are: Canadian Journal of Earth Sciences, Economic Geology, Environmental & Engineering Geoscience, Geophysics, Journal of the Geological Society, and Petroleum Geoscience. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: All from v.1
Biosis Citation Index (BCI) This link opens in a new window BIOSIS Citation Index is an expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. It indexes journal articles, meetings, patents, and books. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 2010 to present

Energy Citations Database Energy Citations database (ECD) contains over 2.6 million bibliographic citations for energy and energy related subjects from the Department of Energy. It also provides access to over 221,000 electronic documents with continued growth through regular updates. The database covers disciplines such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, and computer science. It includes bibliographic citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.
United States Geological Survey (USGS) A multi-disciplinary organization providing reliable information on biology, geography, geology, geospatial information, and water. USGC includes collections of maps, imagery and publications as well as reference materials such us fact-sheets.

Multidisciplinary Databases

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Is a full text journal package and database that provides access by journal title or subject. Articles are published by Elsevier Science, Academic Press, and other science publishers and societies. Included are the following subject fields: agricultural and biological sciences, arts & humanities, biochemistry, genetics and molecular biology, business, management, and accounting, chemical engineering, chemistry, civil engineering, computer science, decision sciences, earth and planetary sciences, economics, econometrics and finance, energy and power, engineering and technology, environmental science, immunology and microbiology, materials science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, pharmacology, toxicology and pharmaceutics, physics and astronomy, psychology, and social science.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window Published by Springer, the database is for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, earth sciences and economics. Journals can be browsed by publication title, subject collections, or publisher using the basic and advanced search options.
Taylor & Francis Journals This link opens in a new window Online access to over 900 peer-reviewed journals covering disciplines in science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities and social sciences published by Taylor & Francis, Routledge, and Psychology Press imprints. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: All from v.1
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window multidisciplinary database, providing access to selected full-text of over 300 journals published by Wiley & Sons and for which the library has subscription. Subjects covered include business, biology, chemistry, computer science, engineering, life science, physics, psychology, geology and more.

Databases - Advanced Search

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities mainly in North America and Europe. With the new Open Access Publishing service the database provides full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1861 to present
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus, launched in 2004, is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes citation tracking tools. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1823 to present
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science, an authoritative and multidisciplinary citation database, allows searching of core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes current and retrospective coverage dating to 1900. Also features "cited reference" search capabilities. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1900 to present
WorldCat This link opens in a new window WorldCat, the OCLC Online Union Catalog is the world's largest bibliographic database. It contains records from libraries worldwide and includes millions of citations for a range of materials including books, chapters, computer programs, films, journals, magazines, manuscripts, newspapers, slides, sound recordings, videotapes and more, in a variety of languages. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1200 to present