This guide highlights core print and electronic Library resources in the area of Plant Health. Use this guide as your starting point. For more resources and further help, visit the Science & Agriculture Library or Ask a Librarian.
CAB eBooksThis link opens in a new windowPublished by CAB International, CAB eBooks are divided into six core subject collections, constantly updated with the latest titles. The six subject collections comprise Agriculture; Animal & veterinary sciences; Environmental sciences; Human health, food & nutrition; Leisure & tourism; Plant sciences.
Date Coverage: 2000 - present
Elsevier eBooksThis link opens in a new windowA collection of electronic books published by Elsevier serving a wide range of research needs in the life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
Date Coverage: Complete collection till 2019
Springer BooksThis link opens in a new windowA digitized scientific, technical and medical (STM) book collection. It comprises professional books with in-depth knowledge, reference books, and textbooks. Subjects covered include Biomedical and Life Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Engineering, Mathematics, and Physics.
Date Coverage: Complete collection
Taylor & Francis eBooksThis link opens in a new windowThis e-book collection provides online access to over 10,000 selected academic books published by Taylor & Francis, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, and approximately 15,000 titles published by CRC Press in science, technology, engineering, and medicine.
Date Coverage: Varies
Integrated Pest Management: Current Concepts and Ecological Perspective presents an overview of alternative measures to traditional pest management practices using biological control and biotechnology.
Providing a critical evaluation of the management strategies involved in ecologically-based pest management, this book presents a balanced overview of environmentally safe and ecologically sound approaches. It also provides a multidisciplinary and multinational perspective on integrated pest management useful to researchers in entomology, crop protection, environmental sciences and pest management.
Food Security and Plant Disease Management offers a comprehensive exploration of biocontrol, the latest technologies being used in plant health assurance, and resulting impacts on crop production and food security.
Pests of Fruit Crops: A Colour Handbook, Second Edition provides an up-to-date illustrated account of the various pests of fruit crops throughout Europe, many of which (or their close relatives) are also present in non-European countries.
Covering the most important pathogens, this handbook provides clear, concise descriptions of the symptoms and cycles of diseases and disorders, and the pests that commonly prey on potato crops, their distribution and importance, and advice on their control.
A concise and practical guide to the protection of pea and bean crops, this book deals systematically with pests, and with the fungal, bacterial and viral diseases affecting peas and beans from seedling to produce.
Offers a multidisciplinary view on one of the major diseases of tomato crops, the tomato yellow leaf curl disease. It deals with epidemiological aspects of the disease as well as integrated pest management in the field.
This book provides a comprehensive discussion of the relationships between host plant structure and pathological anatomy. Topics include the structure and development of gum ducts, wound reactions, systemic invasion by bacterial pathogens, diseases caused by MLOs, and responses to cold temperatures.
The Handbook of Cucurbits: Growth, Cultural Practices, and Physiology contains information on cultural practices, nutrition, and physiological processes of cucurbits under both normal and stressful conditions. It presents the history and importance of cucurbit crop production.
Westcott's Plant Disease is a reference book on diseases which attack plants. Plant Disease Handbook identifies various types of diseases which are known to invade these plants located throughout North and South America. The recordings include diseases caused by fungi, bacteria, viruses, viroids and nematodes.
The Fruits and Vegetables manual is a reference manual on diseases which attack fruits (including berries), vegetables, and nuts. The manual identifies various types of diseases which are known to invade these plants located throughout North, Central, and South America. The recordings include diseases caused by fungi, bacteria, viruses, viroids, phytoplasmas, and nematodes.
This book focuses primarily on diseases that are caused by pathogens. Chapters dealing with the general principles of the causes, diagnosis and control of vegetable crop diseases are followed by crop-based chapters. Each disease entry includes a brief introduction to the disease, detailed description of disease symptoms, information on the pathogen and disease development, and suggestions on how to manage the problem.
To manage and minimize the adverse impacts of vegetable pests, it is important to identify exactly which pests are afflicting crops. This work provides identification guides, descriptions of pest life history, and pest management recommendations.