EDUC 218: Children's Literature

This reference work covers 150 years of children's literature in many cultures: the United States, Britain, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, continental Europe, Israel, Africa, and the Far East. Biographical-critical entries include authors as well as illustrators and artists. Also featured are photographs of the best-known figures and samples of classic artwork, many in full color.

The encyclopedia offers comprehensive coverage of the subject across the world, with substantial, accessible, articles by specialists and world-ranking experts.

The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature brings together all aspects of this subject. Entries range from the early romances and legends to cartoons, fairy stories, comic strips, radio, and television. It includes works from Britain, the US, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand.

A guide for books available to children. Each chapter is devoted to an age-range and includes a summary of each book, including illustrations.

The book covers the two major topical areas of children's literature-genres of children's literature (e.g., picture books, folklore, etc.) and the use of children's literature in the classroom.

Children's Literature publishes theoretically-based articles that address key issues in the field. Each volume includes articles, essays, and abstracts of dissertations of note.

Critical evaluation, analysis or commentary for librarians, teachers, students, writers and interested parents on social issues reflected in books, interviews with authors and illustrators and accounts of classroom practice and experience.