Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is Citation Tracking?
Citation tracking looks at the number of times that a particular work, author or journal have been cited in the bibliographies of other works. This gives an indication of how they have been received by the academic community.
The branch of library science concerned with the application of mathematical and statistical analysis to bibliography; the statistical analysis of books, articles, or other publications. (Oxford English Dictionary Online).
Check this guide on bibliometrics.
Author Citation Reports
Author Search in Scopus
Use the Author Search tab to conduct an author search then select the correct author. An author profile opens with detailed research information, including his/her h- index number along with the h-Graph. Scopus only includes articles published after 1995 when calculating the h-index.
Author Search in Web of Science
You can do an author search or use the Author Finder. If the name is common you will need to do a lot of refining using topics, institutions, and years. When you have a good list of articles, use Create Citation Report to see the h-index.
Google Scholar provides an h-index for an author only if the author has created a user profile for themselves. GS also calculates the h-index and i10 index, listing the articles used to arrive at those numbers. i10 is the number of articles receiving at least 10 citations from other authors.
Author Citations Alerts
Scopus (My Alerts)
Use " Set Alert" function create alerts to inform you when this author or item is cited in Scopus. Registration is needed.
Web of Science
Do an author or titlle search
"Create Citation Alert" need to sign in; you will then start receiving the alerts by email.
Part of "Customize Your Experience".
Article and Book Citation Reports
Journal Impact Factor
Free tool, also included in Journal Citation Reports.
Google Scholar Metrics
A freely accessible tool, Google Scholar Metrics, ranks journals by five-year h-indexes and h-median indexes in 9 different languages. You can sort by both broad categories and subcategories.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
The research tool Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a tool that allows you to evaluate and compare journal impact factors using citation data, as well as review journal titles and key performance indicators in categories of academic disciplines.
SCImago Journal & Country Rank
A free source that uses data from Elsevier's Scopus database.