LibGuides: Faculty Special: Where to Publish?

Academic Publishing

Elements that help in identifying a scholarly journal for your publication include:

peer review process
impact factor
editorial board
circulation record
article acceptance rate
coverage by an abstracting and indexing service

Elsevier Publishing Campus
Resources to support you in publishing. Certificates to recognize your efforts.
Harzing.com
11 Publishers Announce Commitment to Make Research Publishing More Inclusive and Diverse
more...less...
The joint statement will impact scholarly publishing on a global
scale, having been initiated by the Royal Society of Chemistry and
signed by the American Chemical Society (ACS), BMJ, Cambridge
University Press, the Company of Biologists, Emerald Publishing,
Elsevier, Hindawi, IOP Publishing, Oxford University Press and Royal
Society Publishing."

Journal Directories

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities
Business an education sections are on subscrption.
more...less...
Provides data on acceptance rates and review time as well as the submission processes for best ranked journals. The library subscibes to business an education sections.
Magazines for libraries
Reviews core journals in a subject area and gives scope, address, circulation, audience as well as indexing information
J 050.25:M189L
Open Access Journals & Publishing
Overview of Open Access in the Arab States

UlrichsWeb (Periodicals Directory) This link opens in a new window A bibliographic database indexing around 250,000 serials including journals published worldwide. The directory covers all subjects and includes regular and irregular publications which are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription. It gives users access to serials information beyond the title level, with links to tables of contents, article abstracts, journal full-text, and document delivery. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: Current

SciRev.org
A website made by researchers for researchers. It offers researchers the possibility to share their experience with the review process.

Scientific Review Process

SciRev
Review the peer review process. It is an initiative for improving peer review transparency

Journal Impact Factor

CWTS Journal Indicators
Free tool hosted by the Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS) at Leiden University.
more...less...
A database of journal indicators including Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP) and Raw Impact per Paper (RIP). Hosted by the Centre for Science and Technology.Title and subject search
Eigenfactor.org
Free tool, also included in Journal Citation Reports.
more...less...
Eigenfactor covers the natural and social sciences and ranks journals according to:
Eigenfactor™ Score(EF): A measure of the overall value provided by all of the articles published in a given journal in a year.
Article Influence™ Score(AI): a measure of a journal's prestige based on per article citations and comparable to Impact Factor.
Title and subject search. Interactive mapping function. The Eigenfactor is

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window JCR provides quantitative tools for ranking, evaluating, categorising, and comparing journals.ISI Web of Knowledge.

SCImago Journal & Country Rank
A free source that uses data from Elsevier's Scopus database.
more...less...
Includes a "compare" feature that compares journal citation among countries. There is also a "map generator" that shows citation relationships by country. This indicator shows the visibility of the journals contained in the Scopus database from 1996.

Journal Ranking Lists

Beall’s List
list of questionable, scholarly open-access publishers
ERA Journal Ranked List
https://www.resurchify.com/impact/details/17400154818
ERIH 'initial' lists
JANE: Journal/Author Name Estimator
more...less...
Can help you find journals publishing in your area by comparing your title, abstract, or keywords to millions of articles in MEDLINE and finding the best matching articles, journals, or authors.
Journal Quality Lists
From Harzing.com
Journal-Ranking.com
more...less...
This source ranks journals that are indexed by ISI's Science Citation Index. The website allows you to customize your ranking and is interactive
Journals Ranked by Impact
As listed by SCI-BYTES from July 2000 to present - University of Delaware Library
Science Gateway
more...less...
High Impact Journals by discipline, also includes:
Research country impact fator
Most Cited Authors
Most Cited Institutions
Top Ten Lists
From Eigenfactor.org

Hundreds of ‘predatory’ journals indexed on leading scholarly database" from Nature.

Arabic Journal Citation Index

Arabic Citation Index (ARCI)
Clarivate Analytics has partnered with the Egyptian Knowledge Bank (EKB), the Egyptian government’s digital library and online knowledge hub to launch the first Arabic Citation Index (ARCI)
ARCIF
يُعتبر معامل تأثير أرسيف "Arcif" قاعدة بيانات عربية ضخمة للإستشهادات المرجعية للمجلات العلمية المحكمة الصادرة في العالم العربي، وهي تقدم بيانات شاملة، وذات مصداقية، تربط مخرجات وحجم الاقتباسات/الاستشهادات لمئات الألوف من المقالات الصادرة باللغة العربية، في مختلف التخصصات.
Arab Impact Factor خاص بالمجلات التي تصدر باللغة العربية
معامل التأثير العربي
Athar
البوابة الإلكترونية حول الأثر الاجتماعي للبحث العلمي
حول/من العالم العربي (أثر

Open Access Publishing @ AUB

AUB Libraries is participating in the membership program of several open access publishers. Due to these memberships AUB scholars and academic researchers are eligible for discounts on the "Article Processing Charges" for open access publishing. For more on this refer to the guide:

Open Access Publishing @ AUB

Open Access publishing

Open Access is free online access to the full text of research articles for anyone, webwide.

Publishing in an open access journal may lead to:

Increased visibility, exposure, usage & impact of research.
Readership expanded beyond subscribers to journals in which the research is published.
Research impact has been typically measured by tools such as ISI Web of Science and Journal Citation Reports. Tools like Google Scholar measure impact of a wider range of papers.

Scholars can publish in one of the 3000+ OA journals DOAJ MORE

The Effect of Open Access and Downloads ('hits') on Citation Impact: A Bibliography of Studies

The Open Access Citation Advantage: Studies and Results to Date

Scholarly Open Access: Critical Analysis of Scholarly Open Access Publishing

Faculty Special: Where to Publish?

Academic Publishing.outerbox {PADDING-BOTTOM: 3px; PADDING-LEFT: 2px; PADDING-RIGHT: 2px; PADDING-TOP: 3px} .headerbox H2{FONT: small-caps 14px Arial Rounded MT Bold;}