LibGuides: Arabic Language and Literature: Articles

Find Scholarly articles in Library Databases

Use the Library databases to search for articles. Databases collect and index a big number of journals running through long time periods. Databases offer searching features that help you find what you need using and combining keywords, and limiting your search by type and date of publication. See Search Techniques.

Start your search using subject databases, then use Multidisciplinary databases for a broader coverage.

In most databases you can access the articles in full text, or link to the full text from a different source.

Subject Databases

Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window Published by Brill, this bibliographic database indexes publications on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. It Indexes journal articles, book materials, conference proceedings and book reviews. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1906- present
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window Bibliographic information for critical scholarly materials in literature, criticism, drama, language, linguistics, humanities, and folklore. Coverage is worldwide and includes articles chosen from over 3,500 journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials. Availability: Bibliographic citations and Full-text via Literature Resource Center Date Coverage: 1926 to present
Arabic Literature of Africa Online This link opens in a new window A bio-bibliography on the Arabic manuscript tradition in the African continent, which continued well into the 20th century CE. It offers authoritative information about African authors, the texts they wrote in Arabic, the manuscripts in which these texts are found, and the locations of these manuscripts, together with bibliographical references to the literature. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1994
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies (MECAS) This link opens in a new window A bibliographic index of materials (journal articles, dissertations, books, etc…) relating to the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. It contains more than 400,000 records, from reputable centers such as the School of Oriental and African Studies. Subject Coverage: Political and economic affairs, cultural heritage, art and humanities, sociology, religion, anthropology, and archaeology. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1946 to present
Oxford Islamic Studies Online (3 simultaneous users ) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive online resource covering the history and culture of Islam. The main content features major Oxford reference works. The database covers global Islamic history, politics, faith, culture, customs, and more. In addition to reference entries, the database contains biographies, primary documents, book chapters, interpretation and concordance of the Qur'an, images, maps, and timelines. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: Current A comprehensive online resource covering the history and culture of Islam. The main content features major Oxford reference works such as Oxford Dictionary of Islam, Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, and Oxford History of Islam. The database covers global Islamic history, people, politics, faith, concepts, practice, culture, customs, and much more. In addition to reference entries, the database contains biographies, primary documents, book chapters, interpretation and concordance of the Qur'an, images, maps, and timelines. It includes a "Learning Resources" area featuring study and teaching aids for the exploration of the field of Islamic studies in general. It has powerful search capabilities and can be searched by Era, topics, country, region, branch of Islam, name, birth, death, profession, movements, schools, and document type.
Project Muse Journals This link opens in a new window An online collection of journals from scholarly and academic presses including John Hopkins University Press. The collection provides access to arts, humanities, and social sciences in scholarly journals that are peer-reviewed. Subject covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, economics, and many others. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: All from v.1

Arabic Databases

Al Manhal = المنهل This link opens in a new window Arabic database providing access to full-text searchable publications from the Arab world’s leading publishers, universities and research centers. Covers a wide range of topics: business, history, geography, Islamic studies, language and literature, political science, social sciences, science and technology. Includes books, journals, strategic studies, dissertations and videos. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1973 to present
E-Marefa = معرفة This link opens in a new window Arabic language database providing access to academic journals and statistical reports from the Arab world. The information is published by universities, research centers, central banks, scientific associations and regional organizations. Content includes articles, theses, dissertations, reports, and statistics. Subjects covered comprise: humanities, social sciences, medicine, business, engineering, and sciences. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1991 to present
Shamaa = شمعة This link opens in a new window An open access database of literature on education in Arab countries. It indexes books, peer reviewed articles, theses and dissertations, reports and conference proceedings in Arabic, English and French languages. Availability: Bibliographic citations and selected full-text Date Coverage: 2007 - present

Open Access Databases

AMIR Access to Mideast and Islamic Resources Open access scholarship on the Middle East and Islamic worlds
Database of Arabic Literature in Western Literature (DAL) An easy-to-use, searchable, internet-based bibliographic database of Arabic literature in western research.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Use SearchAll to search across databases and find articles, books, conference papers, e-reserves, & more

Try the following multidisciplinary databases, they cover a big number of journals from different fields of knowledge:

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Scholarly and magazine articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Scholarly Full text archiving (in PDF format) of selected scholarly journals starting with issue one. It usually does not include the most recent three to five years. 1800s-
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Scholarly and magazine articles.

Journals

Use Journal Finder to find articles in a particular journal:

Click here for a list of Selected Journals

Arabic Language and Literature: Articles

Find Scholarly articles in Library Databases