This guide is intended to help you know more about Library and Internet resources in the area of Arabic Language and Literature. Use this guide as your starting point, come to the Library or Ask a Librarian for more resources and help.
يشتمل على تاريخ اللغة العربية وعلومها وما حوته من العلوم والآداب على إختلاف مواضيعها؛ وتراجم العلماء والآدباء والشعراء وسائر أرباب القرائح، ووصف مؤلفاتهم وأماكن وجودها أو طبعها من أقدم أزمنة التاريخ إلى الآن
Brill E-BooksThis link opens in a new windowCollection of electronic books from Brill focusing on Middle Eastern art, history, culture, language, Islamic studies, philosophy, theology, mysticism, sociology and political studies.
Date Coverage: Complete collection
Oxford Islamic Studies Online (3 simultaneous users )This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive online resource covering the history and culture of Islam. The main content features major Oxford reference works. The database covers global Islamic history, politics, faith, culture, customs, and more. In addition to reference entries, the database contains biographies, primary documents, book chapters, interpretation and concordance of the Qur'an, images, maps, and timelines.
Date Coverage: Current
A comprehensive online resource covering the history and culture of Islam.
The main content features major Oxford reference works such as Oxford Dictionary of Islam, Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, and Oxford History of Islam. The database covers global Islamic history, people, politics, faith, concepts, practice, culture, customs, and much more. In addition to reference entries, the database contains biographies, primary documents, book chapters, interpretation and concordance of the Qur'an, images, maps, and timelines. It includes a "Learning Resources" area featuring study and teaching aids for the exploration of the field of Islamic studies in general. It has powerful search capabilities and can be searched by Era, topics, country, region, branch of Islam, name, birth, death, profession, movements, schools, and document type.
Cambridge Histories onlineThis link opens in a new windowAn e-book collection bringing together over 260 volumes from the Cambridge Histories series. Volumes are grouped into topics and cover over 15 different subject areas, including: American history, British history, economic history, general history, history of science, language and linguistics, literary studies, music, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts.
Coverage: Complete collection till end of 2021
De Gruyter eBooksThis link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary and multilingual collection of electronic books and textbooks from many reputable publishers. The collection covers 28 subject areas.
Coverage: Complete collection
Format: PDF and ePub
Kotobarabia Arabic eLibraryThis link opens in a new window: A collection of electronic books in Arabic. The collection ranges from contemporary novels to national heritage scientific treatises, with titles written by Arab authors of all genres including fiction, non-fiction, popular and scholarly. The database covers the following subjects and more: fine arts, language, literature, medicine, philosophy, political sciences, religion, and social sciences. Availability: Full-text. Date Coverage: Varies.
Kotobarabia: Arab Leaders, Historians and PhilosophersThis link opens in a new windowA collection of contemporary and classic Arabic writings. The collection comprises around 5,000 titles of early works from around 1,000 Arab thinkers, philosophers, historians, politicians, and theologians. Topics cover feminism, social theory, literature, history, Arab culture, religion, philosophy, and political thoughts. Features works by the Four Imams of the Sunni Sect, the Al Azhar Modern Sheikhs, various authors of the Modern Arab Enlightenment, and rare works by the former Egyptian royal family. Availability: Full Text.
Kotobarabia Modern Arab Renaissance CollectionThis link opens in a new windowA collection of electronic books published from 1820 to 1914. The collection provides insight into the development of Egypt and the Arab world during the period of industrialization, modernization, the end of Ottoman Empire and relations with the west. It includes more than 3000 titles in humanities and sciences, including philosophy, literature, arts, history, and politics, featuring writings from M. Abdo and G. El-Afghani. Availability: Full Text. Date Coverage: 1820 to 1914.