LibGuides: Business Research Guide: Industry Information

INDUSTRY RANKINGS

Business rankings annual
Business and Company Resource Center
Select the Industry Search and type the desired NAICS or SIC code; Enter the industry description if you do not know the NAICS or SIC of your industry e.g. Apparel).

Standard & Poor’s (S&P): Ratings (WRDS) This link opens in a new window

INDUSTRY AND MARKET RESEARCH STUDIES

Passport: Euromonitor International This link opens in a new window Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, and breaking news. The database includes country fact files, lifestyle statistics, market data, consumer products and economic indicators. Passport database provides data on consumer markets, foreign trade, industrial markets, IT and telecommunications, population and households, resources and environment, retailing, service markets, and more. The history and forecast data allows the analysis of data from 1977-2020. Statistical data can be downloaded into Excel spreadsheets or in a chart style. Passport contains: A range of consumer trends and lifestyle indicators such as disposable income availability, consumer expenditure, consumer prices, eating and drinking habits, household profiles, home ownership statistics, media access and health data. Market research reports on industries, consumer lifestyles and retailing as well as company profiles and country reports. Availability: Statistical data and full-text Coverage: Current
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window Use the Advanced Search option and type Industry Report as the Document Type. A business database that includes in-depth coverage for over 2,770 publications with more than 1, 840 available in full text and appearing in academic journals, dissertations, EIU Views Wire, trade magazines, Wall Street Journal- Eastern Edition and other newspapers.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window Offers access to peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in the business world. Features reports, company information and company profiles. Bloomberg.com is also searchable through Business Source Ultimate. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: - - - -

UN Comtrade Database
Commodity Trade Statistics. Data compiled by the United Nations Statistics Division covers approximately 200 countries and represents more than 99% of the world's merchandise trade

Statista This link opens in a new window A large statistics and market research platform with an information pool for a wide range of industry such as retail, advertising, media, consumer goods, and technology. Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources. It covers current market figures and forecasts for the most important consumer goods within a total of more than 200 markets.

EMIS Intelligence (Emerging Markets Information Service) - Industries
Delivers company and industry information together with relevant news, research, and analytics for developing markets.
Statistics Canada
The national statistical office. It provides key information on Canada's economy, society and environment

INDUSTRY OVERVIEWS

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window Use the Advanced Search option and select Industry Report as the Document Type. A business database that includes in-depth coverage for over 2,770 publications with more than 1, 840 available in full text and appearing in academic journals, dissertations, EIU Views Wire, trade magazines, Wall Street Journal- Eastern Edition and other newspapers.
Passport: Euromonitor International This link opens in a new window GMID is a global statistical database from Euromonitor. It provides data on consumer markets, foreign trade, industrial markets, IT and telecommunications, population and households, resources and environment, retailing, service markets, etc...
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window Select Industry Profiles under Browse (on the right hand side) An online business database including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications, covering the subject areas of accounting, business, economics, finance, management, marketing and much more.

Lexis Nexis Academic
Select Sources
Browse Sources
Publication Type
Industries & Markets
Industry Directories & Profiles
more...less...
Cover top news, company, industry, and market news; legal news; company financial information; general medical and health topics and medical abstracts; accounting, auditing, and tax information.
Gale industry encyclopedias in Business and Company Resource Center
Use the Advanced Search option and select "Industry Overviews" in the Content Area
more...less...
A business database bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, industry overviews and statistics, associations, news and full-text periodical articles. It covers domestic and international companies.
Manufacturing & Distribution U.S.A.
UNcomtrade (Commodity Trade Statistics) 1962-
Trade statistics from over 200 countries
more...less...
Data may be visualized in graphs, tags, tables and maps downloaded directly in an Excel spreadsheet. The atabase is continuously updated. Whenever trade data are received from the national authorities, they are standardized by the UN Statistics Division and then added to UNcomtrade.

INDUSTRY AND MARKET RESEARCH STUDIES

Passport: Euromonitor International This link opens in a new window Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, and breaking news. The database includes country fact files, lifestyle statistics, market data, consumer products and economic indicators. Passport database provides data on consumer markets, foreign trade, industrial markets, IT and telecommunications, population and households, resources and environment, retailing, service markets, and more. The history and forecast data allows the analysis of data from 1977-2020. Statistical data can be downloaded into Excel spreadsheets or in a chart style. Passport contains: A range of consumer trends and lifestyle indicators such as disposable income availability, consumer expenditure, consumer prices, eating and drinking habits, household profiles, home ownership statistics, media access and health data. Market research reports on industries, consumer lifestyles and retailing as well as company profiles and country reports. Availability: Statistical data and full-text Coverage: Current
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window Use the Advanced Search option and type Industry Report as the Document Type. A business database that includes in-depth coverage for over 2,770 publications with more than 1, 840 available in full text and appearing in academic journals, dissertations, EIU Views Wire, trade magazines, Wall Street Journal- Eastern Edition and other newspapers.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window Offers access to peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in the business world. Features reports, company information and company profiles. Bloomberg.com is also searchable through Business Source Ultimate. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: - - - -

UN Comtrade Database
Commodity Trade Statistics. Data compiled by the United Nations Statistics Division covers approximately 200 countries and represents more than 99% of the world's merchandise trade

Statista This link opens in a new window A large statistics and market research platform with an information pool for a wide range of industry such as retail, advertising, media, consumer goods, and technology. Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources. It covers current market figures and forecasts for the most important consumer goods within a total of more than 200 markets.

EMIS Intelligence (Emerging Markets Information Service) - Industries
Delivers company and industry information together with relevant news, research, and analytics for developing markets.
Statistics Canada
The national statistical office. It provides key information on Canada's economy, society and environment