LibGuides: Chemistry : Journals and Databases

Chemistry eJournals

Chemistry electronic journals by topic:

Chemistry

Chemical & Materials Engineering

Selected Core Databases

Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) Journals Online
A core database for chemistry that includes a collection of peer reviewed journals published by the Royal Society of Chemistry from 1841 to present. The database provides access to the full-text of current and archival journals. It also links to ChemSpider, a chemical search engine that offers free access to chemical structures and other online services.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications
The American Chemical Society is the leading publisher of peer-reviewed research in the chemical and related sciences, publishing 54 research journals plus Chemical & Engineering News, a weekly newsmagazine, the ACS Symposium Series, plus some reference books. All 54 journals are accessible from volume one, issue one.
SciFinder
Published by the American Chemical Society, SciFinder provides access to the Chemical Abstract database. It contains chemistry, biochemistry and chemical engineering journals, patents, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information.

Restriction: First time users should register, at: (https://origin-scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=72286060-86F3-5055-7553-F82B188D3419)

JAVA: You need to have "Java Applet and Java Web Start support" installed on your PC. Download and install JAVA at: http://www.java.com/getjava/index.jsp

Selected Multidisciplinary Databases

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database that provides full-text access to hundreds of electronic journals, plus books and reference works, published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries. 754 of the journal titles are accessible from volume 1. Subjects covered include physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1923 to present
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus, launched in 2004, is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes citation tracking tools. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1823 to present
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window An integrated platform for books, journals, and other materials published by Springer. Includes more than 173,000 titles from every scientific discipline (computer science, medicine, public health, engineering, mathematics, life sciences, etc.) and many social sciences discipline (education, history, political sciences, psychology, etc.) 481 of the journal titles are accessible from volume one. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1832 to present
Web of Science This link opens in a new window 10,000 of the highest impact journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. ISI. 1900- Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including open access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. ISI. 1900-present for citation and general searching.

Chemistry

Chemistry eJournals

Selected Core Databases

Selected Multidisciplinary Databases

Selected Open Access Databases