LibGuides: Arabic and Islamic Manuscript Heritage: Manuscripts in AUB Libraries

Books (Book) Icon #029215

The titles listed on this page do not represent a comprehensive list of resources available through AUB Libraries. Use the Library Catalog to find more manuscripts, Arabic and Oriental manuscripts, Manuscripts catalogs, and others available at the University Libraries.

Selected Manuscripts

Majmūʻat fawāʼid mukhtalifah wa tarākīb wa adwīyah. / مجموعة فوائد مختلفة وتراكيب وأدوية
Collections of recipes, prescriptions and drugs of Arabic medicine for remedies and treatment of diseases
ʻIlāj al-aṭfāl / علاج الأطفال
للشيخ عبد الباسط العلموي بخطه
Khawāṣṣ al-ḥayawān / خواص الحيوان
Characteristics of animals and their therapy using traditional Arabic medicine.
Takhṭīṭ al-samā naqlan ʻan al-ʻArab al-qidamā’ / تخطيط السما نقلاً عن العرب القدماء
نسخ في بيروت في لبنان في المدرسة الكلية ومؤرخ 13 كانون الاول 1870 م
كتاب في الفلسفة والمنطق والدين
يرجح انه عثماني نسخ في لبنان ومؤرخ في سنة 1060 هـ./ 1650 م.
مجموع في علم الهندسة والاسطرلاب (يحتوي على عدة رسائل)
عثماني نسخ في السيواس وآمد ومؤرخ سنة 1119 هـ./1707 م
الادوية والاغذية
عثماني يرجح انه نسخ في سوريا اوفلسطين في القرن الثامن عشر قبل 1201هـ /1786م
لارجوزة الطبية
من المرجح ان القس سمعان صباغ نسخه في سوريا او لبنان 1798م
كتاب زاد المسافر في الطب
يرجح ان بيرام ابن موسى نسخه في سوريا اوفلسطين سنة 1004هـ /1096م او في القرن السابع عشر
مجموع في علم الهندسة والاسطرلاب (يحتوي على عدة رسائل)
عثماني نسخ في السيواس وآمد ومؤرخ سنة 1119 هـ./1707 م

Selected Manuscripts Catalogs and Indexes

Catalogue of the AUB Arabic Manuscript Collection المخطوطات العربية الموجودة في مكتبة الجامعة الاميركية في بيروت : دليل مرتب حسب نظام ديوي العشري لتصنيف الكتب وتنسيقها مع ملاحق وكشافات للعناوين والمؤلفين
Call Number: RD 091.016:K45mA
Publication Date: 1984

Manuscript Periodicals

مجلة معهد المخطوطات العربية
في المكتبة :مج. 1-42 (1955: آيار-1998)

The University Libraries own approximately 1,800 manuscripts in several languages, the majority of which are in Arabic. The manuscripts cover a wide range of subjects, such as astronomy, Arabic language and literature, history, geography, and the various sciences.
The AUB Libraries digitized 101 manuscripts from Ma’luf’s library latest accession.

Sample Manuscripts by Subjects:

Philosophy

al-Īsāghūjī fīʿilm al-manṭiq /الايصاغوجي في علم المنطق by للخوري يواكيم المطران الراهب الحنّاوي الباسيلي الشويري
Call Number: MS 160:M993iA
Publication Date: 1848
Kitāb al-Manṭiq / كتاب المنطق by تأليف الخوري يواكيم المطران البعلبكي الباسيلي الحناوي
Call Number: MS 160:M993iA
Publication Date: 1833
Fī al-ḥikmah al-ṭabīʻīyāh./ في الحكمة الطبيعية وهي عملية ونظرية
Call Number: MS 516:F438fA
Publication Date: 18th century
2 bibliographic titles in one physical manuscript. The first is the Philosophical book about natural wisdom and is divided into two parts. The first is the practical one which discusses ethics, politics and social aspects and the theoretical part deals with physics and metaphysics, theology and astronomy. The second book is about geometry and space.

Science

Kitāb Nūr al-ʻuyūn wa-al-jāmiʻ fihī al-funūn / كتاب نور العيون والجامع فيه الفنون by Kaḥḥāl al-Ḥamawī, Ṣalāḥ al-Dīn ibn Yūsuf, active 13th century.
Call Number: MS 617.7:I161nA
Publication Date: 1583
The manuscript deals with eye anatomy and optics in addition to other diseases diagnosis.
Fawāʼid fī al-kīmiyāʼ nathran wa-shiʻran / فوائد في الكيمياء نثراً وشعراً ؛ [ويليه] الدرة البيضا في صناعة الياقوتة الحمره
Call Number: MS 546.3:F278fA
Publication Date: 19th century
A Book of early Arabic chemistry. It explains the benefits of chemistry by using the prose and the poetry and the characteristics of gems and ruby and their chemical reaction.
Fī taʻrīf al-Jughrāfiyā wa maʻná ba'ḍ Iṣṭilāḥātihā / في تعريف الجغرافية ومعنى بعض اصطلاحاتها
Call Number: MS 911:F438fA
Publication Date: Mid 19th century
Book of geography used for teaching the geography course in the American School in Abey (Aley ) in Mont- Lebanon. It includes technical terms and definitions.
Kitāb Fī masāḥat al-suṭūḥ wa-al-ajsām / كتاب في مساحة السطوح والاجسام
Call Number: MS 516:M394mA
Publication Date: 1849
Geometry and surface measurement . It also includes land topography
Mūjiz al-Qānūnn / موجز القانون by الشيخ الإمام العالم والحبر الكامل علاء الدين علي بن أبي الحزم القرشي المتطبب
Call Number: MS 610.917:I146mA
Publication Date: 1738
Commentary and explanation of the book Sharḥ al-Qānūn in medicine

A digital copy of the catalog of AUB Arabic manuscript collection compiled by Dr. Yusuf Khoury and listing most of the AUB Libraries manuscripts, entitled 'al-Makhtutat al-'Arabiyah al-mawjudah fi maktabat al-Jami'ah al-Amirikiyah fi Bayrut' and published in 1985, can be found below.

Catalogue of the AUB Arabic Manuscript Collection المخطوطات العربية الموجودة في مكتبة الجامعة الاميركية في بيروت : دليل مرتب حسب نظام ديوي العشري لتصنيف الكتب وتنسيقها مع ملاحق وكشافات للعناوين والمؤلفين by اعداد يوسف قزما خوري
Call Number: RD 091.016:K45mA
Publication Date: 1984

Click here for a list of digitized Arabic manuscripts at the AUB Libraries.

Bio-Bibliographies

Brockelmann in English: The History of the Arabic Written Tradition Online This link opens in a new window
A multi-volume reference work offering bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period. The English translation spells out all the authors' names, which makes the translation much easier to consult.
Brockelmann Online This link opens in a new window
A multivolume reference work offering bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors. The collection covers the original volumes of the Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur, as well as the three supplement volumes, including the index.

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Provides access to all of the more than 500,000 entries in the latest edition of the Oxford English Dictionary and its supplements.

Manuscripts Collections

Middle Eastern Manuscripts Online 1: Pioneer Orientalists This link opens in a new window Rare Arabic manuscripts of Joseph Justus Scaliger, Franciscus Raphelengius, and Jacobus Golius, from the Leiden University Library. The Golius collection is particularly famous for its manuscripts on Islamic science. The publication consists of 267 Arabic manuscripts in 303 volumes, with 109.517 pages, in full-color, high-definition images. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: Varies
Middle Eastern Manuscripts Online 2: The Ottoman Legacy of Levinus Warner Information This link opens in a new window 140 volumes from the Warner Collection, totaling 45,809 pages of Ottoman Turkish, Arabic, and Persian texts. Manuscripts were acquired by the great scholar Levinus Warner during his stay in Istanbul from 1644 until his death in 1665. The collection includes one autograph, 10 unique manuscripts, and 11 manuscripts with unique parts. It also includes several of Warner's diaries with research notes in various languages. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: Varies
Middle Eastern Manuscripts Online 3: Arabic Manuscripts from the Hungarian Academy This link opens in a new window 200 manuscripts with just over 300 works. It includes (Arab O. 013) a dated copy of a unique arrangement of a rare treatise written by al-Ṣāḥib Tāǧ al-Dīn (d. 707/1307) produced in the year of the author’s death; two rare Mamluk treatises on horsemanship (Arab F.2); and an anonymous compilation (Arab O. 027) about the lives of the outstanding men who lived in Medina in the 12th/18th century. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: Varies Arabic manuscripts holdings of the Oriental Collection in the Library of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences in Budapest.
Middle Eastern Manuscripts Online 4: The Shangoda Collections from Dagestan This link opens in a new window

A Glossary for Archivists, Manuscript Curators, and Records Managers by compiled by Lewis J. Bellardo and Lynn Lady Bellardo
Call Number: CA 025.341:B436b
Publication Date: 1992
Glossary of Basic Archival and Library Conservation Terms by Carmen Crespo Nogueira (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2010
The first language of this multilingual dictionary is English: the entries are in alphabetical order with definitions in English only, followed by the Spanish, German, Italian, and French equivalents of the terms.
The Arabic Manuscript Tradition: a glossary of technical terms and bibliography by Adam Gacek
Call Number: J 930:H236:58Bd
Publication Date: 2001
This book consists of a glossary of technical terms and a bibliography. The technical terms, collected from a variety of sources, embrace a vast range of topics dealing with the making and reading (studying) of Arabic manuscripts. They include: the Arabic scripts, penmanship, writing materials and implements, the make-up of the codex, copying and correction, decoration and bookbinding.
Rafīq al-ʻuthmānī / رفيق العثماني by أمين خوري
Call Number: CA 413:K459rA
Publication Date: 1894
قاموس يحتوى على نيف واثنى عشر الف كلمة تركية وفارسية مترجمة الى اللغة العربية
An Arabic-English lexicon by Edward Lane
Call Number: F 492.73:L265m:1955-1956
Publication Date: 1956
Comprising a very large collection of words and significations omitted in the Ḳámoos, with supplements to its abridged and defective explanations, ample grammatical and critical comments, and examples in prose and verse.

Use the Library Catalog to find more Arabic Dictionaries and other languages