Marine Biomaterials by
This book provides updated information on marine-based biomedical carriers and their therapeutic potential. Marine biomaterials and bio-based carriers show wide application in pharmaceutical and biomedical fields to deliver small and large molecules. Biomaterial-based composites, scaffolds, or matrix systems are sound systems for controlled and prolonged drug release in target sites and control the premature release of drugs or bioactive compounds. This book discusses essential topics such as the therapeutic potential of marine collagen, management of bone disorders, gene delivery, natural marine compounds in immunomodulation, theranostic applications, tissue engineering, and regeneration. It also describes the use of marine biopolymers in cancer therapy. Different chapters describe the tissue engineering techniques to develop these carriers. Marine biomaterial-based systems are popular for tissue engineering and biomedical imaging. This book is ideal for industry experts, students, and researchers in pharmaceutical sciences and pharmacology.
Marine genomics: Methods and protocols by
This detailed volume provides an overview of recent advances in the application of genomic technologies in several domains of marine biology, raising awareness of various DNA- and RNA-based technologies. Genomic methods are essential in identifying previously undetected taxonomic (e.g. DNA barcoding), genetic (e.g. sequencing), and functional (e.g. gene expression, analysis of metabolites) diversity, as shown in the chapters of this book, with sections focusing on next generation sequencing (NGS) technologies, bioinformatics in marine genomics research, marine biotechnology, as well as a variety of methods successfully applied in fish. Written for the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series, chapters include introductions to their respective topics, lists of the necessary materials and reagents, step-by-step, readily reproducible laboratory protocols, and tips on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls. Authoritative and practical, Marine Genomics: Methods and Protocols highlights the utility of numerous lab protocols and their potential to provide deeper insight into physiological and ecological mechanisms in marine life.
Marine biochemistry by
This book provides the latest comprehensive methods for isolation and other novel techniques for marine product development. Furthermore, this book offers knowledge on the biological, medical, and industrial applications of marine-derived medicinal food substances. There has been a tremendous increase in the products derived from marine organisms for commercial application in industries every year. Functional foods of medicinal value are particularly in demand as new technology allows the stabilization of natural ingredients and their availability in pure forms to solve various human diseases. Marine flora and fauna have essential elements and trace minerals that nurture various hormones produced in the endocrine system to regulate the respective metabolisms, thereby providing a safe and healthy life to humans. The overall presentation and clear demarcation of the contents by worldwide contributions is a novel entry point into the market of medicinal foods from the sea. The exploration of marine habitats for novel materials are discussed throughout the book. The exploration and exploitation of the biochemistry of sea flora and fauna are limited, and this book extends the research possibilities into numerous marine habitats. Various approaches for extracting and applying the flora and fauna are discussed. This book will be of value to researchers, marine biotechnologists, and medical practitioners, due to the vast information, as well as industrial and medical applications of marine substances all in one place.
Marine biology by
We present you with an updated reference book aimed for upper-level undergraduate and graduate students interested in Marine Biology. The textbook is designed to introduce the fundamentals of marine organisms and their ecological roles in the world's oceans, and is organized by functional groups, emphasizing marine biodiversity rather than systematics or habitats. Each chapter has been written and peer-reviewed by renowned international experts in their respective fields, and includes updated information on relevant topics, from the microbial loop and primary production in the oceans, to marine megafauna and the impacts of projected climate change on marine life and ecosystems.
Deep-sea fishes by
The technological advances of the last twenty years have brought huge advances in our understanding of the deep sea and of the species inhabiting this elusive and fascinating environment. Synthesising the very latest research and discoveries, this is a comprehensive and much-needed account of deep-sea fishes. Priede examines all aspects of this incredibly diverse group of animals, reviewing almost 3,500 species and covering deep-sea fish evolution, physiology and ecology as well as charting the history of their discovery from the eighteenth century to the present day. Providing a global account of both pelagic and demersal species, the book ultimately considers the effect of the growing deep-sea fishing industry on sustainability. Copiously illustrated with explanations of the deep-sea environment, drawings of fishes and information on how they adapt to the deep, this is an essential resource for biologists, conservationists, fishery managers and anyone interested in marine evolution and natural history.
Marine managed areas and fisheries by
Advances in Marine Biology has been providing in-depth and up-to-date reviews on all aspects of marine biology since 1963--over 40 years of outstanding coverage! The series is well known for its excellent reviews and editing. Now edited by Michael Lesser (University of New Hampshire, USA) with an internationally renowned Editorial Board, the serial publishes in-depth and up-to-date content on many topics that will appeal to postgraduates and researchers in marine biology, fisheries science, ecology, zoology, and biological oceanography. Volumes cover all areas of marine science, both applied and basic, a wide range of topical areas from all areas of marine ecology, oceanography, fisheries management and molecular biology and the full range of geographic areas from polar seas to tropical coral reefs. This volume, with an introduction by Ray Hilborn, will present the latest views on the use of MPAs or Marine Managed Areas for fisheries management. It will contain a wide range of case studies including the Chagos archipelago, South Georgia, the Caribbean, the North Sea, Florida, Hawaii, Great Barrier Reef, California, Mediterraneanand the Phoenix Islands Protected Area. It is the intention of the editors that the volume presents a series of evidence based rather than advocacy driven contemporary reviews.
Managing ocean environments in a changing climate : sustainability and economic perspectives by
Managing Ocean Environments in a Changing Climate summarizes the current state of several threats to the global oceans. What distinguishes this book most from previous works is that this book begins with a holistic, global-scale focus for the first several chapters and then provides an example of how this approach can be applied on a regional scale, for the Pacific region. Previous works usually have compiled local studies, which are essentially impossible to properly integrate to the global scale. The editors have engaged leading scientists in a number of areas, such as fisheries and marine ecosystems, ocean chemistry, marine biogeochemical cycling, oceans and climate change, and economics, to examine the threats to the oceans both individually and collectively, provide gross estimates of the economic and societal impacts of these threats, and deliver high-level recommendations. Nominated for a Katerva Award in 2012 in the Economy category State of the science reviews by known marine experts provide a concise, readable presentation written at a level for managers and students Links environmental and economic aspects of ocean threats and provides an economic analysis of action versus inaction Provides recommendations for stakeholders to help stimulate the development of policies that would help move toward sustainable use of marine resources and services
