Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks
Handbook of marine model organisms in experimental biology by Agnes Boutet (Editor); Bernd Schierwater (Editor)
The importance of molecular approaches for comparative biology and the rapid development of new molecular tools is unprecedented. The extraordinary molecular progress belies the need for understanding the development and basic biology of whole organisms. Vigorous international efforts to train the next-generation of experimental biologists must combine both levels - next generation molecular approaches and traditional organismal biology. This book provides cutting-edge chapters regarding the growing list of marine model organisms. Access to and practical advice on these model organisms have become a conditio sine qua non for a modern education of advanced undergraduate students, graduate students and postdocs working on marine model systems. Model organisms are not only tools they are also bridges between fields - from behavior, development and physiology to functional genomics. Key Features Offers deep insights into cutting-edge model system science Provides in-depth overviews of all prominent marine model organisms Illustrates challenging experimental approaches to model system research Serves as a reference book also for next-generation functional genomics applications Fills an urgent need for students Related Titles Jarret, R. L. & K. McCluskey, eds. The Biological Resources of Model Organisms (ISBN 978-1-1382-9461-5) Kim, S.-K. Healthcare Using Marine Organisms (ISBN 978-1-1382-9538-4) Mudher, A. & T. Newman, eds. Drosophila: A Toolbox for the Study of Neurodegenerative Disease (ISBN 978-0-4154-1185-1) Green, S. L. The Laboratory Xenopus sp. (ISBN 978-1-4200-9109-0)
Publication Date: 2021
Encyclopedia of marine mammals by Bernd Wursig (Editor); J. G. M. Hans Thewissen (Editor); Kit M. Kovacs (Editor)
The Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals, Third Edition covers the ecology, behavior, conservation, evolution, form and function of whales, dolphins, seals, sea lions, manatees, dugongs, otters and polar bears. This edition provides new content on anthropogenic concerns, latest information on emerging threats such as ocean noise, and impacts of climate change. With authors and editors who are world experts, this new edition is a critical resource for all who are interested in marine mammals, especially upper level undergraduate and graduate students, researchers, and managers, and is a top reference for those in related fields, from oceanographers to environmental scientists.
Publication Date: 2018 (3rd ed.)
Handbook of anticancer drugs from marine origin by Se-Kwon Kim (Editor)
This timely desk reference focuses on marine-derived bioactive substances which have biological, medical and industrial applications. The medicinal value of these marine natural products are assessed and discussed. Their function as a new and important resource in novel, anticancer drug discovery research is also presented in international contributions from several research groups. For example, the potential role of Spongistatin, Apratoxin A, Eribulin mesylate, phlorotannins, fucoidan, as anticancer agents is explained. The mechanism of action of bioactive compounds present in marine algae, bacteria, fungus, sponges, seaweeds and other marine animals and plants are illustrated via several mechanisms. In addition, this handbook lists various compounds that are active candidates in chemoprevention and their target actions. The handbook also places into context the demand for anticancer nutraceuticals and their use as potential anti-cancer pharmaceuticals and medicines. This study of advanced and future types of natural compounds from marine sources is written to facilitate the understanding of Biotechnology and its application to marine natural product drug discovery research.
Publication Date: 2015
Handbook of marine microalgae by Se-Kwon Kim (Editor)
Handbook of Microalgae: Biotechnology Advances offers complete coverage of marine microalgae, including biology, production techniques, biotechnological applications, economic perspectives of applications, and environmental effects of marine microalgae blooms. With contributions from world experts, Handbook of Microalgae: Biotechnology Advances focuses on microalgae from an organism perspective to offer a complete picture from evolution to biofuel.
Publication Date: 2015
Handbook of anticancer drugs from marine origin by Se-Kwon Kim (Editor)
This timely desk reference focuses on marine-derived bioactive substances which have biological, medical and industrial applications. The medicinal value of these marine natural products are assessed and discussed. Their function as a new and important resource in novel, anticancer drug discovery research is also presented in international contributions from several research groups. For example, the potential role of Spongistatin, Apratoxin A, Eribulin mesylate, phlorotannins, fucoidan, as anticancer agents is explained. The mechanism of action of bioactive compounds present in marine algae, bacteria, fungus, sponges, seaweeds and other marine animals and plants are illustrated via several mechanisms. In addition, this handbook lists various compounds that are active candidates in chemoprevention and their target actions. The handbook also places into context the demand for anticancer nutraceuticals and their use as potential anti-cancer pharmaceuticals and medicines. This study of advanced and future types of natural compounds from marine sources is written to facilitate the understanding of Biotechnology and its application to marine natural product drug discovery research.
Publication Date: 2014
Handbook of marine natural products by E. Fattorusso (Editor); William H. Gerwick (Editor); Orazio Taglialatela-Scafati (Editor)
"Handbook of Marine Natural Products" takes a fresh approach to describing the major themes of research in this rapidly developing field. This two volume reference work begins with a section that provides a taxonomic survey of the secondary metabolites of diverse marine life including microbes, algae, and invertebrates. This is followed by a demonstration of the techniques and strategies employed in modern structure elucidation of complex natural products. The natural roles of marine natural products are then explored in a series of focused chapters which include the topics of symbiosis, anti-predation and antifouling, chemical interactions, and defence against UV stress. Various routes which facilitate the understanding of marine natural product biosynthesis are subsequently explained and these are followed by an extensive set of chapters on the biomedical potential of marine natural products. The latter portion of this section considers the technologies and scientific disciplines necessary for advancing bioactive marine natural product lead compounds into actual pharmaceuticals. The reference work finishes with a selection of chapters describing marine toxins and their impact on public health and seafood resources. Final thoughts presented at the end of the second volume focus on the future of this field of investigation and discovery research. This publication is presented as a reference handbook and general concepts are emphasized and illustrated with numerous interesting examples, graphical information, and a comprehensive index. "Handbook of Marine Natural Products" introduces students who are at advanced undergraduate and entry graduate student levels to this fascinating multidisciplinary field. It is an ideal desk companion for courses focusing on this contemporary area.
Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of ocean sciences by John H. Steele (Editor-In-Chief); Steve A. Thorpe (Editor-In-Chief); Karl K. Turekian (Editor-In-Chief)
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences, Second Edition is a new 6-volume online reference work, pulling together all the key information in one source from the leading publisher in the field. This second edition is online, offering the user greater flexibility, accessibility, and most importantly, usability with 24 hour access, multi-user access, remote access and excellent search functionality. Structured for success, each article contains a glossary, an introduction, a reference section and a wealth of cross-referenced links to premium and related material all accessible in a mouse-click, making complicated, time consuming research a thing of the past.
Publication Date: 2009 (2nd ed.)
Dictionary of marine natural products by John W. Blunt (Editor); Murray H. G. Munro (Editor)
Driven by the vast, yet largely unexplored, potential of bioactive organisms in the ocean and improvements in analytical techniques to facilitate their research, natural products scientists face an increasing need for single-source reference cataloging the current knowledge and state-of-the-science regarding marine natural products. Dictionary of Marine Natural Products with CD-ROM presents a comprehensive resource for more than 25,000 known natural products drawn from marine organisms. Following a similar format to the Chapman and Hall Chemical Database, this dictionary indexes each product by chemical name, CAS registry number, and compound type. Documenting all known marine natural products, each entry includes the biological source, chemical structure, physical properties, biological activity, and literature references for each compound. An accompanying CD-ROM is fully text and structure-searchable and enables unique access to this valuable resource. The editors, John Blunt and Murray Munro, both pioneers in the field, also provide an introductory monograph that describes structural compound types and marine organisms. Marine organisms offer a delicate, yet plentiful source for a vast array of novel products whose unique structural features make them suitable drug candidates, pesticides, marine anti-fouling agents, and more. The Dictionary of Marine Natural Products Web Version gives researchers a new tool for developing pharmaceutical and chemical applications of marine natural products.
Publication Date: 2008
Handbook of marine model organisms in experimental biology by
The importance of molecular approaches for comparative biology and the rapid development of new molecular tools is unprecedented. The extraordinary molecular progress belies the need for understanding the development and basic biology of whole organisms. Vigorous international efforts to train the next-generation of experimental biologists must combine both levels - next generation molecular approaches and traditional organismal biology. This book provides cutting-edge chapters regarding the growing list of marine model organisms. Access to and practical advice on these model organisms have become a conditio sine qua non for a modern education of advanced undergraduate students, graduate students and postdocs working on marine model systems. Model organisms are not only tools they are also bridges between fields - from behavior, development and physiology to functional genomics. Key Features Offers deep insights into cutting-edge model system science Provides in-depth overviews of all prominent marine model organisms Illustrates challenging experimental approaches to model system research Serves as a reference book also for next-generation functional genomics applications Fills an urgent need for students Related Titles Jarret, R. L. & K. McCluskey, eds. The Biological Resources of Model Organisms (ISBN 978-1-1382-9461-5) Kim, S.-K. Healthcare Using Marine Organisms (ISBN 978-1-1382-9538-4) Mudher, A. & T. Newman, eds. Drosophila: A Toolbox for the Study of Neurodegenerative Disease (ISBN 978-0-4154-1185-1) Green, S. L. The Laboratory Xenopus sp. (ISBN 978-1-4200-9109-0)
Encyclopedia of marine mammals by
The Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals, Third Edition covers the ecology, behavior, conservation, evolution, form and function of whales, dolphins, seals, sea lions, manatees, dugongs, otters and polar bears. This edition provides new content on anthropogenic concerns, latest information on emerging threats such as ocean noise, and impacts of climate change. With authors and editors who are world experts, this new edition is a critical resource for all who are interested in marine mammals, especially upper level undergraduate and graduate students, researchers, and managers, and is a top reference for those in related fields, from oceanographers to environmental scientists.
Handbook of anticancer drugs from marine origin by
This timely desk reference focuses on marine-derived bioactive substances which have biological, medical and industrial applications. The medicinal value of these marine natural products are assessed and discussed. Their function as a new and important resource in novel, anticancer drug discovery research is also presented in international contributions from several research groups. For example, the potential role of Spongistatin, Apratoxin A, Eribulin mesylate, phlorotannins, fucoidan, as anticancer agents is explained. The mechanism of action of bioactive compounds present in marine algae, bacteria, fungus, sponges, seaweeds and other marine animals and plants are illustrated via several mechanisms. In addition, this handbook lists various compounds that are active candidates in chemoprevention and their target actions. The handbook also places into context the demand for anticancer nutraceuticals and their use as potential anti-cancer pharmaceuticals and medicines. This study of advanced and future types of natural compounds from marine sources is written to facilitate the understanding of Biotechnology and its application to marine natural product drug discovery research.
Handbook of marine microalgae by
Handbook of Microalgae: Biotechnology Advances offers complete coverage of marine microalgae, including biology, production techniques, biotechnological applications, economic perspectives of applications, and environmental effects of marine microalgae blooms. With contributions from world experts, Handbook of Microalgae: Biotechnology Advances focuses on microalgae from an organism perspective to offer a complete picture from evolution to biofuel.
Handbook of marine natural products by
"Handbook of Marine Natural Products" takes a fresh approach to describing the major themes of research in this rapidly developing field. This two volume reference work begins with a section that provides a taxonomic survey of the secondary metabolites of diverse marine life including microbes, algae, and invertebrates. This is followed by a demonstration of the techniques and strategies employed in modern structure elucidation of complex natural products. The natural roles of marine natural products are then explored in a series of focused chapters which include the topics of symbiosis, anti-predation and antifouling, chemical interactions, and defence against UV stress. Various routes which facilitate the understanding of marine natural product biosynthesis are subsequently explained and these are followed by an extensive set of chapters on the biomedical potential of marine natural products. The latter portion of this section considers the technologies and scientific disciplines necessary for advancing bioactive marine natural product lead compounds into actual pharmaceuticals. The reference work finishes with a selection of chapters describing marine toxins and their impact on public health and seafood resources. Final thoughts presented at the end of the second volume focus on the future of this field of investigation and discovery research. This publication is presented as a reference handbook and general concepts are emphasized and illustrated with numerous interesting examples, graphical information, and a comprehensive index. "Handbook of Marine Natural Products" introduces students who are at advanced undergraduate and entry graduate student levels to this fascinating multidisciplinary field. It is an ideal desk companion for courses focusing on this contemporary area.
Encyclopedia of ocean sciences by
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences, Second Edition is a new 6-volume online reference work, pulling together all the key information in one source from the leading publisher in the field. This second edition is online, offering the user greater flexibility, accessibility, and most importantly, usability with 24 hour access, multi-user access, remote access and excellent search functionality. Structured for success, each article contains a glossary, an introduction, a reference section and a wealth of cross-referenced links to premium and related material all accessible in a mouse-click, making complicated, time consuming research a thing of the past.
Dictionary of marine natural products by
Driven by the vast, yet largely unexplored, potential of bioactive organisms in the ocean and improvements in analytical techniques to facilitate their research, natural products scientists face an increasing need for single-source reference cataloging the current knowledge and state-of-the-science regarding marine natural products. Dictionary of Marine Natural Products with CD-ROM presents a comprehensive resource for more than 25,000 known natural products drawn from marine organisms. Following a similar format to the Chapman and Hall Chemical Database, this dictionary indexes each product by chemical name, CAS registry number, and compound type. Documenting all known marine natural products, each entry includes the biological source, chemical structure, physical properties, biological activity, and literature references for each compound. An accompanying CD-ROM is fully text and structure-searchable and enables unique access to this valuable resource. The editors, John Blunt and Murray Munro, both pioneers in the field, also provide an introductory monograph that describes structural compound types and marine organisms. Marine organisms offer a delicate, yet plentiful source for a vast array of novel products whose unique structural features make them suitable drug candidates, pesticides, marine anti-fouling agents, and more. The Dictionary of Marine Natural Products Web Version gives researchers a new tool for developing pharmaceutical and chemical applications of marine natural products.
