Resources for Online Teaching and Learning: Engineering & Architecture: Databases

A comprehensive resource for art information offering full-text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications including journals, dissertations and art reproductions. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.

Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations
Date Coverage: 1972 to present

JSTOR, a digital library for scholars, researchers and students, provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines including business, economics, humanities, medicine, mathematics, science, and social sciences. Library's subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Global Plants and Life Sciences.

Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 1665 to present

Bibliographic database that provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences, including both basic biomedical sciences and clinical practice.

Availability: Bibliographic citations
Date Coverage: 1946 to present

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). In keeping with NLM’s legislative mandate to collect and preserve the biomedical literature, PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLM’s extensive print journal collection.

Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: late 1700s to present

A bibliographic database produced by the US National Library of Medicine.
It indexes a large number of international biomedical journals covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary, preclinical sciences, and allied health sciences.

Availability: Bibliographic citations
Date Coverage: 1946 to present

Provides full text access to IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions, conference papers, and active standards.

Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 1872 to present

A full-text online database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the biomedical and life sciences. It compiles protocols from several book series and provides access to nearly thirty years of tested, trusted, step-by-step protocols covering various subjects.

Availability: Full-text standards
Date Coverage: All content till the end of 2022.

A multidisciplinary database that provides full-text access to hundreds of electronic journals, plus books and reference works, published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries. 754 of the journal titles are accessible from volume 1. Subjects covered include physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.

Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 1923 to present

An integrated platform for books, journals, and other materials published by Springer. Includes more than 173,000 titles from every scientific discipline (computer science, medicine, public health, engineering, mathematics, life sciences, etc.) and many social sciences discipline (education, history, political sciences, psychology, etc.) 481 of the journal titles are accessible from volume one.

Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 1832 to present

An online library of technical literature for the oil and gas exploration and production industry. Users are prompted to add exception to access the database. Published by the Society of Petroleum Engineers. Indexes articles, technical documents and conference papers. Partner publishers are 18 and include American Petroleum Institute (API), and American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE).

Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: All from v.1

Published by the American Chemical Society, SciFinder provides access to the Chemical Abstract database. It contains chemistry, biochemistry and chemical engineering journals, patents, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information.
Availability: Bibliographic citations
Date Coverage: 1800s to present
Note: First times users should be on campus to create an account, at (https://origin-scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=72286060-86F3-5055-7553-F82B188D3419)

READ for additional information.
JAVA: You need to have "Java Applet and Java Web Start support" installed on your PC. Download and install JAVA at: http://www.java.com/getjava/index.jsp

Collection of journals and conference proceedings published by ASCE. The Library includes all 33 ASCE journals from 1983 to present as well as ASCE conference proceeding from 2000 to present. Technical and professional interest areas include: aerospace, architecture, computing in civil engineering, construction, energy, engineering mechanics, hydraulic, and transportation.

Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 1983 to present

Provides access to ACI Structural Journal and ACI Materials Journal and technical documents. The ACI website allows users to browse the Concrete Industry magazine, ACI handbooks and manuals, technical documents including standards, list of resources and programs for educators and researchers and more.

Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations
Date Coverage: 2012 to present

An online library of technical literature for the oil and gas exploration and production industry. Users are prompted to add exception to access the database. Published by the Society of Petroleum Engineers. Indexes articles, technical documents and conference papers. Partner publishers are 18 and include American Petroleum Institute (API), and American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE).

Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: All from v.1

Provides full text access to IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions, conference papers, and active standards.

Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 1872 to present

A collection of full-text articles and bibliographic records covering the field of computing and information technology. The database includes the complete collection of ACM's publications, including journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, and multimedia titles. All journals are accessible from volume one, issue one.

Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations
Date Coverage: All from v.1

Collection of journals and conference proceedings published by ASCE. The Library includes all 33 ASCE journals from 1983 to present as well as ASCE conference proceeding from 2000 to present. Technical and professional interest areas include: aerospace, architecture, computing in civil engineering, construction, energy, engineering mechanics, hydraulic, and transportation.

Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 1983 to present

A multidisciplinary database that provides full-text access to hundreds of electronic journals, plus books and reference works, published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries. 754 of the journal titles are accessible from volume 1. Subjects covered include physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.

Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 1923 to present

An integrated platform for books, journals, and other materials published by Springer. Includes more than 173,000 titles from every scientific discipline (computer science, medicine, public health, engineering, mathematics, life sciences, etc.) and many social sciences discipline (education, history, political sciences, psychology, etc.) 481 of the journal titles are accessible from volume one.

Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 1832 to present

Provides full text access to IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions, conference papers, and active standards.

Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 1872 to present

Collection of peer reviewed journals published by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics. These journals are a leading source of knowledge for the applied mathematics and computational science communities.

Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: All from v. 1

The collection provides full-text access to the publications of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, journals, conference proceeding, and book codes for mechanical devices.

Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 1960 to present

An integrated platform for books, journals, and other materials published by Springer. Includes more than 173,000 titles from every scientific discipline (computer science, medicine, public health, engineering, mathematics, life sciences, etc.) and many social sciences discipline (education, history, political sciences, psychology, etc.) 481 of the journal titles are accessible from volume one.

Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 1832 to present

The collection provides full-text access to the publications of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, journals, conference proceeding, and book codes for mechanical devices.

Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 1960 to present

Published by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE), the library covers all areas of mobility and automotive engineering including aerospace, ground vehicle, off-highway, and manufacturing technology. Contains technical papers, standards, reports, books, and magazines.

Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: - - - -

An online library of technical literature for the oil and gas exploration and production industry. Users are prompted to add exception to access the database. Published by the Society of Petroleum Engineers. Indexes articles, technical documents and conference papers. Partner publishers are 18 and include American Petroleum Institute (API), and American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE).

Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: All from v.1

Published by the Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library at Columbia University, this database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. It also includes publications of professional associations, plus state and regional periodicals.

Availability: Bibliographic citations
Date Coverage: 1800s to present

JSTOR, a digital library for scholars, researchers and students, provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines including business, economics, humanities, medicine, mathematics, science, and social sciences. Library's subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Global Plants and Life Sciences.

Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 1665 to present

A collection of encyclopedias, books and videos from Sage publication.
The database allows users to search and browse titles by subject covering areas such as business, counseling, crime, education, health and social care, family studies, media, psychology, social issues and sociology.

Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 1965 to present

Published by Sage, this database supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. This ultimate methods library contains books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences.

Availability: Full-text and videos
Date Coverage: - - - -

Online access to over 900 peer-reviewed journals covering disciplines in science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities and social sciences published by Taylor & Francis, Routledge, and Psychology Press imprints.

Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: All from v.1