LibGuides: Psychology: Reference

What is Reference ?

Reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and biographies help you find factual and background information about your topic.

It is advisable to look at more than one source of information to get the most information and to have a more balanced view of the topic.

Google and Wikipedia could be good places to start your search for general and initial ideas about your topic. But you will always have to use Library resources to get more credible information.

Sage eReference

Need background information on Psychology? Use the below Reference ebooks from Sage KnowledgeThis link opens in a new window

Reference Books

Need background information on Psychology? Use our below selected Reference Books:

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences by Smelser, Neil J.
Publication Date: Amsterdam, Netherlands : Elsevier, c2010
Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by David L. Sills, has there been such an ambitious project to describe the state of the art in all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences.
The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science by W. Edward Craighead; Charles B. Nemeroff (Editor)
Call Number: J 150.3:C744c3
Publication Date: New York : Wiley, c2004
Dictionary of Psychology by Raymond J. Corsini
Call Number: J 150.3:C826d
Publication Date: Philadelphia, PA : Brunner/Mazel Publishers, 1999
Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology by Leslie A. Shepard; J. Gordon Melton (Editor)
Publication Date: Detroit, Mich. : Gale Group, c2001
Covers recent and historical phenomena, topics, concepts, cults, personalities, organizations, and publications associated with the fields of occultism and parapsychology. Includes over 2,000 biographies of prominent individuals and personalities in these fields.
Encyclopedia of industrial and organizational psychology by Rogelberg, Steven G.
Call Number: J 158.7:E564r
Publication Date: Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2007
Learning and Memory by John H. Byrne (Editor)
Publication Date: Oxford, UK ; San Diego, CA : Elsevier, 2008.
Presents a summary of the present state of research in the neurobiology and psychology of learning and memory.
Handbook of Child Psychology and Developmental Science 
Call Number: J 155.4:H236L
Publication Date: Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, 2015
A reference for educators, policy-makers, researchers, students, and practitioners in human development, psychology, sociology, anthropology, and neuroscience