LibGuides: Psychology: Articles

Find Articles

Use the Library databases to search for articles. Databases collect and index a big number of journals running through long time periods. Databases offer searching features that help you find what you need using and combining keywords, and limiting your search by type and date of publication. see Search Techniques.

Start your search with subject databases, then use Multidisciplinary databases for a broader coverage.

Repositories

Cogprints: Cognitive Sciences EPrint Archive
An electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, Computer Science, Philosophy and more
PsyArXiv Preprints
A free preprint service for the psychological sciences. Maintained by The Society for the Improvement of Psychological Science
SocArXiv Papers
Open archive of the social sciences housed at the University of Maryland. It provides a free and publicly accessible platform for social scientists to upload working papers, pre-prints, published papers, data, and code.

Start Here

Start with APA PsycINFOThis link opens in a new window database

Subject Specific Databases

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window A psychology database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and other publishers. Subjects covered include behavioral sciences and therapies, biomedical sciences and health, nursing, psychiatry, sociology, theory, personality and more. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1894 to present
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the field of psychology. This database, provided by the American Psychology Association (APA) covers the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, etc... Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1887 to present
Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window HaPI is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1985- present
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window Contains full-text information about all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, etc. Information provided includes the name of the test author and publisher as well as scoring information and the volume of the print yearbook in which the test was first included. Availability: Test reviews Date Coverage: v.6 to present
Psychiatry Online Journals This link opens in a new window A collection of journals published by the American Psychiatry Association. The database includes the following: The American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychiatric Services, Journal of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences, and Focus: The Journal of Lifelong Learning in Psychiatry. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: All from v.1

Multdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database, covering a wide array of subject areas ranging from astronomy, biomedicine, engineering, health, and literacy to mathematics, women's studies, zoology and more. The database includes magazines, peer reviewed and scholarly journals, trade publications, newspapers, reports, books and videos. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1890 - present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR, a digital library for scholars, researchers and students, provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines including business, economics, humanities, medicine, mathematics, science, and social sciences. Library's subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Global Plants and Life Sciences. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1665 to present
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database that supports research in more than 160 subject areas covering arts and humanities, business and management, health and medicine, science and technology, and social sciences. It includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, market reports and videos. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1905 to present

Find more article databases

Databases for Advanced Research

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities mainly in North America and Europe. With the new Open Access Publishing service the database provides full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1861 to present
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database. The library subscribes to Science, Social Sciences and Art & Humanities Citation Indexes which contain information gathered from thousands of high impact scholarly journals. The database allows cited reference searching, results analysis, citation mapping, and the creation of citation reports.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window WorldCat, the OCLC Online Union Catalog is the world's largest bibliographic database. It contains records from libraries worldwide and includes millions of citations for a range of materials including books, chapters, computer programs, films, journals, magazines, manuscripts, newspapers, slides, sound recordings, videotapes and more, in a variety of languages. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1200 to present

Find Journals

Use Journal Finder to find articles in a particular journal:

The following is a selected list of journals on Psychology ; The library holds around 800 Psychology journals

Selected Journals

Open Access Journals

There are around 170 free journals in the field of psychology available through the DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals.

Citation Linker

Are you looking for a specific article that you know its title and other citation information? You can use our Citation Linker to see if AUB libraries possess a copy of it.