LibGuides: Resources for Online Teaching and Learning: Agricultural &amp; Food Sciences: What is OER?

Source: Elder, A. (2017, December 13). An introduction to open educational resources [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NtJmakm1-zc

Selected Open Educational Resources (OER) Collections

California Open Online Library for Education (COOL4Ed) A collection of free and open eTextbooks, course materials, online courses, journals and articles from University of California.
Coursera Hundreds of free courses from world-class universities and companies give access to on-demand video lectures, homework exercises, and community discussion forums.
edX edX is the trusted platform for education and learning. Founded by Harvard and MIT, edX is home to more than 20 million learners, the majority of top-ranked universities in the world and industry-leading companies. As a global nonprofit, edX is transforming traditional education, removing the barriers of cost, location and access.
GALILEO Open Learning Materials This repository brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials.
IOER (Illinois Open Educational Resources) IOER provides you with open, standards-aligned educational and career content. Use our tools to find, share, curate, and create resources. Users can like, rate, comment on and follow resources. IOER offers easy-to-use, no-cost, immediate online access to education and career resources and tools for individuals, schools, and organizations.
LibreTexts A leading, non-commercial open textbook organization initiated at the University of California, Davis.
Massachusetts Institute of Technology OpenCourseWare MIT OpenCourseWare is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
OASIS Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 97 different sources and contains 385,629 records.
Open Course Library Managed by the Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges, this site contains material for numerous courses, all of which is stored in Google Docs so that it can be easily downloaded.
Open Education Consortium A collaboration of higher education institutions and associated organizations from around the world creating a broad and deep body of open educational content using a shared model.
Open Education Global Open Education Global (OEG) is a global, members based, non-profit organization supporting the development and use of open education around the world.
OpenLearn Offers a full range of course materials from The Open University in various subject areas and at various levels.
Open Learning Initiative Courses trusted globally as textbook replacements or as supplemental material proven to improve student outcomes.
Open Michigan A collection of open educational resources (OER) from University of Michigan. Access a range of course materials, videos, lectures, student work and more.
Open Research Library Is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 20,000 Open Access books. T
OpenStax A non-profit based at Rice University, whose mission is to improve student access to education. Educational materials for everyone from children to college students to professionals, organized in small modules that are easily connected to; formerly known as Connexions.
Open Textbook Library Based at the University of Minnesota but supported by members of the Open Textbook Network, it provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks that have been reviewed by faculty to assess their quality.
Open Video Project The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities. Researchers can use the video to study a wide range of problems, such as tests of algorithms for automatic segmentation, summarization, and creation of surrogates that describe video content; the development of face recognition algorithms; or creating and evaluating interfaces that display result sets from multimedia queries. Because researchers attempting to solve similar problems will have access to the same video content, the repository is also intended to be used as a test collection that will enable systems to be compared, similar to the way the TREC conferences are used for text retrieval.
Open Washington OPEN Washington is an Open Educational Resources (OER) network. This website is dedicated to providing easy pathways for faculty to learn, find, use and apply OER.
Saylor Academy Contains numerous full-length courses at the college and professional levels.
Skills Commons SkillsCommons’ mission is to accelerate the democratization of education for all through open educational services and resources enabling individuals, communities, educational institutions, organizations, and businesses to prepare people for successful employment in the 21st Century.
Teaching Commons U.S. The Teaching Commons brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.
UCI Open The University of California, Irvine is a sustaining member of the Open Education Consortium (formerly the OpenCourseWare Consortium). The University launched its OpenCourseWare initiative in November 2006. Since then, it has rapidly grown to become one of the premiere sites in the United States.
Wikiversity A Wikimedia Foundation project devoted to learning resources, learning projects, and research for use in all levels, types, and styles of education from pre-school to university, including professional training and informal learning.

Resources for Online Teaching and Learning: Agricultural & Food Sciences

OER Mega-Sites

Selected Open Educational Resources (OER) Collections