Skip to Main Content
 

How to Cite Your Sources: Auto-Citation

This guide provides basic information on how to format your sources according to standard styles, which style to use, and how to avoid plagiarism in addition to recommended bibliographic tools and manuals.

University Libraries Databases with Automatic Citation Generators

Some databases provide automatic citation formatting at the article level. Several articles can also be selected to create a List of References. The Libraries do not guarantee compliance with the citation styles.
Check the manuals for the correct format if you are in doubt.

EbscoHost

       
      DATABASES

Academic Search Ultimate  
Art Full Text  
Business Source Ultimate
CINAHL Complete 
Education Research Complete   
Historical Abstracts with Full Text    
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies (MECAS) 
Philosopher's Index
          STYLES
ABNT / AMA / APA / MLA / Chicago / Harvard / Turabian / Vancouver/ICMJE
                                                                                             
AUTOMATIC CITATIONS 
FORMATTING                    

Select one article 
Open the article
Click on the yellow icon (Cite) 
Select a Citation Style
Copy and Paste in your document

OR

Select one article 
Open the article
Click on the E-mail icon
Choose Citation Format
Select a Citation Style from the drop-down list 
Click Send

N.B. Always check the accuracy and completeness of your citation/s before using in your paper.

ProQuest

      
          DATABASES

ABI/Inform Complete    
Proquest Central    
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Wall Street Journal (Historical)
Washington Post (Historical)   
                                                    

             STYLES

AMA / APA / MLA / Chicago / Turabian / Vancouver
                                                                                                

AUTOMATIC CITATIONS FORMATTING                      

Select one article 
Open the article
Click on Cite within the article
Select a Citation Style from the drop down menu
Copy and Paste in your document

OR

Select one article 
Open the article
Click on the E-mail icon
Go to Bibliography
Check the box "Include bibliographic citations at the end"
Select a Citation Style from the drop-down list 
​Enter your Email address and Name
Click Continue

N.B. Always check the accuracy and completeness of your citation/s before using in your paper.