Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Use reference books, such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks, to find background information on your topic.
Dictionary of American Literary Characters
A dictionary of characters from American literature. The two volumes cover more than two centuries of characters, from 1789, the date of the first American novel, through to the 20th century. There are more than 16,000 entries - over 5000 more than in the previous edition -spanning a broad scope of contemporary popular fiction, including characters from dozens of American novels published since 1980.
Encyclopedia of American Literature
This reference work spans the scope of American literature, from the colonial period through to the 20th century. Broken down into three chronological volumes, and then arranged alphabetically within each volume, each reference includes entries reflecting writers, works, literary movements, characters and influential historical events.
The Oxford Companion to American Literature
The book reflects a dynamic balance between past and contemporary literature, surveying virtually every aspect of American literature, from the Pulitzer Prize to pulp fiction, and from Walt Whitman to William F. Buckley, Jr.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
This set treats the whole of American literature, from the European discovery of America to the present. Each of the essays is a major interpretive contribution. The Encyclopedia includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists.