LibGuides: American Foreign Policy: Articles

Peer Reviewed Journals

How to know if a journal is peer reviewed?

Go to the University Libraries
homepage, click on Databases and log-in to UlrichsWeb

Type the journal title in the Quick Search box. Look for the “peer-reviewed” symbol next to the journal title.

Google Scholar

Find Articles

Start at the University Libraries Home Page, go to Databases and select Political Science, Arab, Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies, or Multidisciplinary from the drop down menu under 'All Subjects'. Click here for a list of selected journals and magazines.

Political Science Databases

Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970: The Middle East Online, Series 1 This link opens in a new window Full-text database of original materials from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office, and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1. The database provides access to over 137,000 pages documenting the politics, administration, wars and diplomacy of the Palestine Mandate, the Independence of Israel and the Arab-Israeli conflict. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1917-1970
Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969 This link opens in a new window A collection of primary sources documents issued by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices. Users are prompted to add exception to access the database.The collection covers a broad sweep of history from 1839 to 1969, taking in the countries of the Arabian Peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt and Sudan. It consists of reports, dispatches, correspondence, political summaries, economic analyses and descriptions of leading personalities. All documents are fully text-searchable. Availability: Full-text Coverage: 1839-1969 Features: Direct link to RefWorks (Citation Management Software)
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies (MECAS) This link opens in a new window A bibliographic index of materials (journal articles, dissertations, books, etc…) relating to the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. It contains more than 400,000 records, from reputable centers such as the School of Oriental and African Studies. Subject Coverage: Political and economic affairs, cultural heritage, art and humanities, sociology, religion, anthropology, and archaeology. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1946 to present

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database, covering a wide array of subject areas ranging from astronomy, biomedicine, engineering, health, and literacy to mathematics, women's studies, zoology and more. The database includes magazines, peer reviewed and scholarly journals, trade publications, newspapers, reports, books and videos. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1890 - present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR, a digital library for scholars, researchers and students, provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines including business, economics, humanities, medicine, mathematics, science, and social sciences. Library's subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Global Plants and Life Sciences. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1665 to present
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database that supports research in more than 160 subject areas covering arts and humanities, business and management, health and medicine, science and technology, and social sciences. It includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, market reports and videos. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1905 to present
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus, launched in 2004, is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes citation tracking tools. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1823 to present
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window An integrated platform for books, journals, and other materials published by Springer. Includes more than 173,000 titles from every scientific discipline (computer science, medicine, public health, engineering, mathematics, life sciences, etc.) and many social sciences discipline (education, history, political sciences, psychology, etc.) 481 of the journal titles are accessible from volume one. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1832 to present
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science, an authoritative and multidisciplinary citation database, allows searching of core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes current and retrospective coverage dating to 1900. Also features "cited reference" search capabilities. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1900 to present
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Wiley Online Library allows searching of articles from hundreds of electronic journals published by Wiley and related companies, as well as a vast and growing collection of reference works and other books. 115 of the journal titles are accessible from volume one. Content is multidisciplinary . Availability: Bibliographic citations and selected full-text Date Coverage: Varies

Find Full-text for Citation

If you have the citation of an article

Central Asia in the Foreign Policy Strategy of Barack Obama's Administration: Results and Prospects. American Foreign Policy Interests Mar/Apr 2010, Vol. 32 Issue 2, p. 83-92.

Go to the University Libraries page, go to Journals and type the journal name to see if the library has the full-text of the article.

American foreign policy interests from 2001 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Complete database