Skip to main content

Tools for Physicians: Home

This module aims to collect, in one place, resources that most physicians use quite often.

Tools for Physicians

EBM resources/services collected from various resources by SML Librarians and displayed in one location:

SML EBM resources that provide critically appraised topics:

SML EBM resources that you can search for EBM items:

Learn more about EBM:

 

To locate clinical practice guidelines look at individual agencies/organizations, and in addition search:

More over, Medline, PubMed and Embase have limits in the 'publication types' as 'guidelines' and 'practice guidelines' that can be added to a particular topic to retrieve guidelines.

Use one or more of below resources to find scholarly articles that talk about a particular medical topic:

  • Medline: an index of 5600 journals in medicine & medical sciences, content very similar to PubMed          
  • PubMed@SML: a formatted PubMed that directly links many AUB subscribed articles to their full-text          
  • Embase: an international database like Medline/Pubmed, indexes around 1500 journals not in PubMed
  • Clinical Key: searches for articles, books, guidelines, clinical procedures, drug info etc...
  • TOXNET: access to many resources on toxicology, hazardous chemicals etc...
  • NCBI Resources: access to many biomedical and genomic resources
  • CAB Direct: for applied life sciences topics

Additional resources that might be used to look up articles:

Remember many more resources are available, for more info all you have to do is contact us!

Below resources give information about a particular drug:

  • Micromedex: comprehensive drug authoritative resource
  • DailyMed: official provider of FDA label information, provides trustworthy information about marketed USA drugs.
  • Drug Classes from DailyMed: click on any to list drugs under this category
  • Drug RxClass: search by drug class or by drug name
  • ClinicalTrials.gov: trials of new drugs and drugs for new indications and medical device trials. Can search or browse by drug class or indication.
  • Drugs.com: information on prescription, over-the-counter and herbal drugs. Includes pill identifier.
  • Drugs@FDA: browse or search for FDA approved prescription and over-the-counter drugs.
  • Epocrates Online: brief, professionally-focused monographs of frequently used prescription and OTC drugs. Includes interactions checker. Can download onto a mobile device, and requires free registration.
  • LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database

For articles talking about a particular drug:

For Drug interactions:

For Drug Toxicity:

For Pill Identifiers:

For More Readings:

SML subscribes to below core e-Journals:

Search AUB Libraries Journal Collection to check the availability of a particular journal.

Case reports are descriptions of practice that can generate ideas, hypotheses, and techniques that can be studied later through controlled experiments. This conveys experiences to other clinicians while revealing hypotheses for future research. It might persuade or motivate other practitioners, or help develop practice guidelines and critical pathways. McEwen, I. (2009). Writing case reports: A how-to manual for clinicians. Alexandra, Virginia: The American Physical Therapy Association.

Below resources specialize in case reports publishing:

Medical journals that publish case-based learning sections:

Information about writing case reports:

Below is a list of the most useful clinical trials registries and resources:

Alternative PubMed Tools search PubMed in such a way that the indexed information may be seen with a different insight.  This is achieved through data mining, linguistic analysis, statistical methodologies and semantic algorithms, and below are few of these resources:

  • Quetzal: another way of PubMed searching, needs free registration
  • PubGet: provides easy access to subscribed articles
  • PubVenn: explores PubMed using venn diagrams to see the relative size for each term as well as how those sets interact.
  • PubReMiner: generates frequency tables and also looks up a human gene using all its synonym
  • GoPubMed: uses semantic algorithms to connect PubMed abstracts to background knowledge in the form of concept categories. This is done by meaning and not by keywords only.
  • PubAdvanced: sorts by RELEVANCE and INFLUENCE with CitImpact - needs free registration.
  • Babel MeSH: PubMed multilanguage search

AUB subscribes to the below 2 citation analysis tools that cover a wide range of the international scientific literature

including medicine and medical sciences.  These can be used either as a search engine to retrieve articles about

a particular topic or to locate where, when and how many times a particular author/citation was cited in the scholarly literature:

  • Scopus: covers around 21,000 peer reviewed journals
  • Web of Science: covers over 20,660 peer reviewed journals in addition to books, patents and conference proceedings
Contact us for more information on how to best search these resources.

Citation Management Tools: AUB Libraries subscribe to below two citation management tools that require free registration at the start:

You are encouraged to visit the complete ABC guide on how to manage your references from the most important Medical, Nursing, and Public Health databases using Refworks, Endnote Web & Endnote Client.

Other similar tools are available on the Internet for free to all users such as:

 

Should you need help in using any of these, contact us.

Selecting a suitable journal for submitting your publication is a process that needs experience and knowledge. the below criteria need to be looked into:

  • Aims and Scope: for a candidate journal the Aims and Scope should be read carefully to guarantee submission of papers within journal's subject coverage. 
  • Journal/Author Name Estimator (JANE): enter title &/or abstract of your paper and click 'Find journals', JANE will compare your document to millions of documents in Medline to find the best matching journals.
  • PubMed: search for your topic to see which journals publish articles in that topic.  Some journals accept only certain types of publications, if this is the case then while searching in PubMed apply filters to limit to the required publication type.
  • Audience: who are the intended audience, are they specialized or generalized ones?
  • Impact Factor (IF): search  Journal Citation Reports (JCR) to identify a journal that has an IF.  IF is the average number of citations per paper published in the last 2 years, but this has its shortcomings and so other tools like H-index were introduced to accommodate these limitations. Not all journals have IF, and many non-prestigious journal’s website present fabricated fake IF.  As for Arab publications the below biomedical journals have IF for the year 2015:

    Journal Title

  IF for 2015

 Annals of Saudi Medicine

  0.311

 Egyptian Journal of Biological Pest Control

  0.152

 Libyan Journal of Medicine

  1.429

 Saudi Journal of Biological Sciences

  1.781

 Saudi Journal of Gastroenterology

  1.312

 Saudi Medical Journal

  0.562

 Saudi Pharmaceutical Journal

  2.233

 

  • H-Index: an h-index of x means that an author has published at least x papers each of which has been cited at least x times. It is available from Scopus and Web of Science (WoS), and it also has its own deficiencies and may vary depending on the source it is coming from.
  • Indexing Services: a journal that is indexed in Medline or PubMed is a bonus. But be aware of those that appear in PubMed only because some of its free articles reside in PubMedCentral. For a good journal choice, make sure it is indexed in Medline, as here they do critical evaluation of journals before accepting them to be indexed in Medline.
  • Open Access OA: this option though might result in more readerships of papers, but may not result in more citations!  Here authors may be asked to pay for the article processing fee to make the paper freely available.  But beware the many OA publishers that are really predatory and are claiming their journals to be scholarly and peer-reviewed by checking “predatory open access journals and publishers”.
  • Scientific quality: check if it is a peer reviewed journal - where reviewers critically study the paper manuscript for quality of content and methodology to detect bias. Although this is mostly a subjective activity yet it stands as a good point for validity of paper, and some utilize a single/double blinded review process.
  • Publisher and the editorial board: check if journal has a user-friendly organized website, and what is the average time between submissions to publication.
  • Finally, get advice from colleagues that have previously submitted to the particular journal you are considering submission to.

Once you decide on the journal that you want to submit your manuscript, follow the specific instructions to authors that Mulford Library collected in its Instructions to Authors in the Health Sciences.

Open Access@SML: SML encourages publishing as open access and currently is a member of below open access publishers.  As a result, any AUB member who wishes to publish with these will be entitled to below designated discount on the article processing fees:

The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) covers over 10,000 quality open access peer-reviewed academic journals.

Beware of open access predatory journals these are fake/scam open access journals requesting payment without providing robust editorial or publishing services; check Bealls Open Access Predatory Publishers list and the five point plan on how to avoid predatory journals by Jocalyn Clark.

Paul M. Blobaum "Blobaum’s Checklist for Review of Journal Quality for Submission of Scholarly Manuscripts", 2013.

Think, Check, Submit is a tool to help you make informed decisions on where to publish, helps researchers evaluate journals prior to submitting their work for publication. With so many publications, how can one trust a particular journal? Follow this check list to verify if you have chosen a trusted journal for publishing your research.  An interesting and alarming issue is the peer-review fraud from New England Journal of Medicine.

NOTE: Any author with an NIH grant submits his/her article to PubMedCentral (PMC) and it will appear in PubMed, irrespective in which journal it was published in. That is how some predatory publishers are advertising that they 'are indexed in PubMed'. Only journals that have a note in NLM 'Indexed for Medline' are the journals selected and evaluated by the NLM Committee.

Still need more information, then read Tennessee University guide "Is this publisher reputable?" also read Chrissy Prator "8 ways to identify a questionable open access journal" and "Spotting a Predatory Publisher in 10 Easy Steps".

Ten Strategies to Boost Your Research Impact:

  1. Create your unique researcher identifier and profile under which you gather all your publications to facilitate their findings and enhance visibility in the research community, to remove author ambiguity (due to variations in spellings), and to ensure your work is correctly attributed to you. Example Open Researcher Contributor ID ORCID
  2. Be consistent in writing your name, your institutional and departmental address and do not use abbreviations.
  3. List your email correctly and open it frequently.
  4. Publish in Journals that have at least one of these:

               for more information see Blobaum's checklist for submission of scholarly manuscripts

  1. Check ScopusPubMed or Web of Science to see if all your citations have correct author and affiliation address. If there are mistakes, contact us to help you correct them.
  2. Create your own researcher profile in a professional web-page and keep it up-to-date.
  3. Join academic social networking sites ex. AcademiaLinkedInResearchGateMendeleyCiteULike
  4. Participate in a professional listserv in your specialized area.
  5. Retain your right to place a copy of your publication @AUB Institutional Repository.
  6. Too much to remember? Ask US, we are here to help you!

Videos for physical examination:

Other multimedia tools:

Clinical Calculators:

 

Challenge YOUR Knowledge: aims for your own assessment and challenge of your clinical knowledge, the below links are taken from different places to satisfy many interests:

In addition, SML Librarians have created the SML PubMedQuiz for you to challenge your PubMed searching skills.

DO NOT DO Recommendations Database: developed by NICE's advisory bodies, it recommends clinical practices that should be discontinued completely or should not be used routinely, due to evidence that the practice is not on balance beneficial or a lack of evidence to support its use.

For more readings:

  • "A decade of reversal: an analysis of 146 discontinued medical practices": list of not proven or contested medical practices
  • Choosing Wisely: an ABIM Foundation initiative to help providers and patients engage in conversations to reduce overuse of tests and procedures, and to make smart and effective choices. It has recommendations from  about 70 medical societies.
  • BMJ's Too Much Medicine campaign aims to highlight the threat to human health posed by overdiagnosis and the waste of resources on unnecessary care.  There is growing evidence that many people are overdiagnosed and overtreated for a wide range of conditions, such as prostate and thyroid cancers, asthma etc...
  • Bad Science: written by Ben Goldacre, a best-selling author, broadcaster, campaigner, medical doctor and academic who specializes in unpicking the misuse of science and statistics by journalists, politicians, quacks, drug companies, etc...

This section highlights selected new recommendations that UpToDate editorial team anticipate may change your clinical practice. These updates, grouped below by specialty, are continuously updated with changes that may have significant and broad impact on clinical practice: 

      Adult primary care Geriatrics Obstetrics & gynecology
      Allergy and immunology Hematology Oncology
      Cardiovascular Hospital Medicine Pediatrics
      Emergency Medicine Infectious disease Psychiatry
      Endocrine Nephrology Pulmonary Care
      Family Medicine Neurology Surgery
      Gastroenterology    

SML Librarian can help you stay up-to-date by receiving automatic email alerts in any of the below:

  • particular journal(s)
  • particular topic of interest
  • alerts to see who have cited one of your paper(s)
  • alerts about recent EBM documents in your specialty
  • medicines and prescribing awareness alerts

If you are interested in any of the above, contact us.

   

Exam Master: examination review for USMLE Step 1 (9000+ questions), USMLE Step 2 (5000+ questions), and USMLE Step 3 (3000+ questions), NBDME step 1, among others. Certification Review aids cover Family Practice, General Pediatrics, General Surgery, Internal Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology, and SPEX, as well as numerous subject exams. Students can create self-study exams in a variety of subjects.  You must create a personal account in order to access the Qbanks. The program tracks your progress, strengths and weaknesses and customizes practice exams based on your performance.

Access Medicine: self assessment, you need to do free registration to use below:

  • Create you own self-assessment program
  • Study with the Resident Readiness @ Internal Medicine
  • Physiology Cases
  • Biochemistry Cases
  • Hurst's Imaging Cases
  • Microbiology Cases

Access Surgery: self assessment, you need to do free registration to use below:

  • Case Files Surgery
  • Resident Readiness@Surgery
  • Q&A for Clerks
  • Quick Tests
  • Board Review for Residents
  • PreTest Surgery
  • Lange Q&A Surgery
  • Exploring Essential Surgery
  • Exploring Essential Radiology

Access Emergency Medicine: self assessment

Access Pediatrics: self assessment

USMLE Easy: a diagnostic and self-assessment tool with a bank of 2,5000+ online USMLE -type questions to study, practice, and simulate the test-taking experience for Step 1 and Step 3. Provides customizable tests covering all disciplines and organ systems that tell you everything you need to know to study effectively and returns detailed results with targeted remediation based on test results - links to selected readings from AccessMedicine - providing the knowledge you need. Users build a robust performance profile that allows you to track your results performance by topic and your test scores over

You are advised to direct your patients to the below free reliable uptodate resources that are written in a language that they can easily understand: 

  • MedlinePlus:comprehensive tool with some Arabic translations.
  • PubMed Health:tool for both physicians and patients and provides evidence on prevention and treatment of diseases.

Choosing Wisely campaign helps physicians and patients engage in conversations about the overuse of tests and procedures to help patients make smart and effective care choices:

  • Choosing Wisely lists created by medical societies, gives evidence-based recommendations that clinicians and patients should discuss to determine when tests and procedures may be appropriate.
  • Choosing Wisely Videos feature physicians, patients, and other health care stakeholders exploring various aspects of this campaign.

SML Librarians are professional people that are knowledgeable and available to help/support your information needs, so do not hesitate to ask us!

Help is available through:

Loading