Check this comprehensive resource center for the latest and most credible information about COVID-19:
|
Below resources can be searched to locate articles about a particular topic in the public health field:
More Resources for Public Health Users:
NLM has a good comprehensive collection of Environmental Health & Toxicology collection of resources. Remember many more resources are available, for more info all you have to do is contact us! |
 |
|
Please visit the following Libguide Evidence Based Public Health (EBPH) for detailed information about EBPH. Below are resources that provide public-health evidence information:
If you are conducting evidence-based healthcare management research and need assistance in data collection, data analysis and writing reports, you can contact the AUB Evidence-based Healthcare Management Unit (EHMU). Learn more about Evidence-based Public Health:
|
|
|
Resources providing multimedia about public health topics:
|
|
|
A lot of the public health literature is available as grey literature that might be difficult to locate, below are some links that might help: Grey Matters! Find Grey literature: Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH) provides Canada’s federal, provincial and territorial health care decision makers with credible, impartial advice and evidence-based information about the effectiveness and efficiency of drugs and other health technologies.
Jafet Reference Librarians created a Libguide on Intergovernmental Organizations and Non-Governmental Organizations with special emphasis on Lebanon and the MENA region.
Fore more information about grey literature we recommend the systematic review guide written by SML Librarian.
|
|
|
Below resources give information (such as approved package inserts) about a particular drug:
Whereas the below sites provide articles talking about a particular drug: For Drug interactions: For Drug Toxicity: For Pill Identifiers: |
|
The Quality and Safety from the below resources help preserve patient safety and implement quality improvement measures:
|
Global Health Observatory (GHO): this is WHO's annual world health statistics reports presenting the most recent health statistics for WHO member states. CDC Wonder (Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research): makes the information resources of CDC available and provides access to a wide array of public health information CDC National Center for Health Statistics: includes the National Health Interview Survey, the National Immunization Survey, the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey, the National Survey of Family Growth, the National Health Care Survey, the National Employer Health Insurance Survey, the National Mortality Followback Survey, and the National Vital Statistics System consisting of the Birth Data and Mortality Data.
CDC Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report: includes links to health related resources
US Department of Health & Human Services National Institutes of Health: links to resources on Health Information, Scientific Resources, Institutes and Offices, Grants and Contracts, an alphabetical list of information on diseases, NIH research areas etc...
GBD Data Visualization: produced by Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation
OECD Statistics: from Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development
E-Marefa an Arabic language full text database providing access to academic journals, theses and statistical reports from the Arab world.
WorldBank Health, Nutrition and Population Data and Statistics: database of Health, Nutrition and Population statistics such as health financing, HIV/AIDS, immunization, malaria and tuberculosis, health workforce, health facilities use, nutrition, etc...
United Nations Data: covers a wide range of themes including Crime, Education, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Information and Population, Refugees, as well as useful features like Country Profiles, and Glossaries. There is also United Nations Population Information Network.
For guidance/help see:
|
|
|
Open Access@SML: SML encourages publishing as open access and currently is a member of below open access publishers. As a result, any AUB member who wishes to publish with these will be entitled to below designated discount on the Article Processing Charges (APC):
No-fee open access journals from all specialties may be used if you are in short of money for the article processing fee. The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) covers over 10,000 quality open access peer-reviewed academic journals. Beware of open access predatory journals these are fake/scam open access journals requesting payment without providing robust editorial or publishing services; see the Beal's List of Predatory Journals and Publishers, also check the five point plan on how to avoid predatory journals by Jocalyn Clark. Paul M. Blobaum "Blobaum’s Checklist for Review of Journal Quality for Submission of Scholarly Manuscripts", 2013. Think, Check, Submit is a tool to help you make informed decisions on where to publish, helps researchers evaluate journals prior to submitting their work for publication. With so many publications, how can one trust a particular journal? Follow this check list to verify if you have chosen a trusted journal for publishing your research. An interesting and alarming issue is the peer-review fraud from New England Journal of Medicine.
|
|
|
Ten Strategies to Boost Your Research Impact:
for more information see Blobaum's checklist for submission of scholarly manuscripts
|
|
Health research instruments as defined by HAPI are questionnaires, psychological tests, health status indicators, genetic test, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, inventories, rating scales, projective techniques, and vignettes/scenarios. Below resources/guidelines help you locate health research instruments:
In addition, the below are hard-copy books available at Jafet Library:
One tip is to search for articles that mention that they developed or validated a questionnaire as you don't want articles that used a method but those that describe a developed method. So in Medline AND your topic with: (questionnaire* adj10 (develop* OR validat* OR new OR descri*)) Searching for an instrument takes time as they may be published in a book, article, dissertation, websites, and may be only available by contacting person who developed it, who may or may not respond to your request. Some journal articles make the full-text of the instrument available as an appendix. If you want to publish the actual instrument or use the instrument in your research, you should contact the copyright holder (author or publisher) to obtain permission to use it yourself - even if the instrument was available for free - but if you are only going to write about it, then no need for copyright permission. For more information see the Washington University Libguide on measurement tools and APA Finding Information about Psychological Tests. |
|
|
Qualitative research seeks to understand and interpret personal experiences, behaviours, interactions, and social contexts to explain the phenomena of interest, such as the attitudes, beliefs, and perspectives of patients and clinicians; the interpersonal nature of caregiver and patient relationships; the illness experience; or the impact of human suffering (Wong et al, 2004). Tools to help find Qualitative Research Articles:
Search filters for qualitative research:
For more information:
|
|
|
Citation Analysis Tools cover a wide range of the international scientific literature including medicine and medical sciences. These can be used either as a search engine to retrieve articles about a particular topic or to locate where, when and how many times a particular author/citation was cited in the scholarly literature:
AUB Libraries subscribes to EndNote citation management tool. Visit the complete SML ABC guide on how to manage your references from the most important Medical, Nursing, and Public Health databases using Endnote Web & Endnote Client. Other similar tools are available on the Internet for free to all users such as: Contact us for more information on how to best search these resources. |
|
|
|
SML Librarian can help you stay up-to-date by receiving automatic email alerts in any of the below:
If you are interested in any of the above, contact us.
SML Librarians are professional people that are knowledgeable and available to help/support your information needs, so do not hesitate to ask us!
|
Help is available through:
|
 |
